Find the answer to your Linux question:
HI all! I am looking for some information to justify a Linux server over a Windows server for s small business. I have already started to make a great argument ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Linux vs. Windows as a Business Server

HI all! I am looking for some information to justify a Linux server over a Windows server for s small business. I have already started to make a great argument for Linux, even though I'm new to it! But our service contract on our server hardware is going to expire soon, so I wanted to gather all of the infomation I can in my defense.

Here are things I know I will hear:
    What about anti-virus software [for emails]? We pay monthly for Norton right now.
    What about interfacing windows boxes with the server - won't this be a problem?
    What about security, being forced to keep ports open for mail and web services, isn't this a potential serious problem? (I've covered that one pretty good myself, but maybe someone out there knows more )
    What about being hacked? Is this a serious threat?

I'm sure theres going to be more - but I want to go in with some ammo - even though I can answer several of the above questions, it never hurts to have the most information I can get.

Thanks for your time!