Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello I'm not really looking for any detailed technical answers here, but a friend of mine recently had a very bad experience with his website host (his Forum has been ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Hosting a list server: any experience with this?

Hello

I'm not really looking for any detailed technical answers here, but a friend of mine recently had a very bad experience with his website host (his Forum has been offline for days) and we've been chatting about a possible 'disaster plan' in case it happens again.

I suggested a list server, to be implemented in case the Forum vanishes again. If we had a list of Forum members we could then contact them during any down-time and keep that essential 'feeling of community' going. Currently this is in jeopardy for my friend.

I have no experience with list servers but have heard of Majordomo, and think this can be hooked up to Postfix. So my questions are probably quite naive:
    1. is it difficult to implement Majordomo with Postfix?
    2. can such a system be deployed at short notice from a desktop PC (*nix of course!)
    3. does it require a box with high specs?

I would be grateful for any feedback from someone who runs a regular list server for an online community. Then I might be able to learn about this myself and figure out if I can even be bothered to try this!
    Last edited by fingal; 02-19-2008 at 10:59 AM. Reason: Removed typo - its been a day of typos!
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

I am currently running mailman integrated with postfix and its working like a champ. this is on a debian system and was faily easy to setup

Quote Originally Posted by jledhead View Post
    I am currently running mailman integrated with postfix and its working like a champ. this is on a debian system and was faily easy to setup