Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello, I'm a newbie to Linux. Over the past couple of months I have been messing around with CentOS and have finally got it in a usable state with Apache, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Securing CentOS

Hello,

I'm a newbie to Linux. Over the past couple of months I have been messing around with CentOS and have finally got it in a usable state with Apache, MySQL, PHP, SSH and FTP. I was hoping I could get some advice on keeping this system secure, as it is public facing but mostly for development work. Here's my iptables script:

Code:
    iptables -F
    iptables -P INPUT DROP
    iptables -P FORWARD DROP
    iptables -P OUTPUT ACCEPT
    iptables -A INPUT -i lo -j ACCEPT
    iptables -A INPUT -m state --state ESTABLISHED,RELATED -j ACCEPT

# Allow Http
    iptables -A INPUT -p tcp --dport 80 -j ACCEPT

# Allow FTP (and passive ports)
    iptables -A INPUT -p tcp -s 192.168.0.0/24 --dport 20:21 -j ACCEPT
    iptables -A INPUT -p tcp -s 192.168.0.0/24 --dport 50000:50050 -j ACCEPT

# Allow SSH
    iptables -A INPUT -p tcp -s 192.168.0.0/24 --dport 22 -j ACCEPT

# Allow MySQL
    iptables -A INPUT -p tcp -s 192.168.0.0/24 --dport 3306 -j ACCEPT
    NMAP from another PC in the network:

Code:
    Discovered open port 80/tcp on 192.168.0.103
    Discovered open port 21/tcp on 192.168.0.103
    Discovered open port 22/tcp on 192.168.0.103
    GRC's Shields Up! reports that only port 80 is open externally, which is what I want.

As you can see, I am keeping FTP, SSH and MySQL all within my local network. I've noticed there are a few other services that would otherwise be exposed (Something beginning with RPC, forgot the other) which are firewalled with the above rules.

I've also uninstalled Postfix as I don't want to deal with the risk of spam.

Can anyone comment on the above rules and whether or not they're OK?