Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello Our single server running a LAMP application at our coloc is getting slower, and I was thinking of putting X Apache servers as front-end, all connecting to a data ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Linux Newbie

Question From single server to cluster

Hello

Our single server running a LAMP application at our coloc is getting slower, and I was thinking of putting X Apache servers as front-end, all connecting to a data server for MySQL + JPG. I've never done this before, and have a couple of questions:

1. Should I use NFS to connect the Apache servers to the MySQL server, or should I look at something else for higher performance (FireWire, etc.)?

2. In case we need to have more than one data server, what would you recommend for load balancing + data synchronization?

Thank you.

you could do high availability and load balancing using linux virtual server for the load balancing and heartbeat for the failover, and drbd for the mirrored file system

If what apache was doing was making money, I would want it up and responsive and much as possible. the above software would do that. I haven't used drbd but have used the rest and they work like a champ and if you post back I will help where I can.

here are some various links
    DRBD: Linux HA
    HomePage: Linux HA
    The Linux Virtual Server Project - Linux Server Cluster for Load Balancing
    and help with config and setup
    Ultra Monkey:

Linux Newbie
    Thanks for the links. Before digging too deep, I should probably try the major diagnostic tools to make sure where in the stack the application is slow. Do you know of a good article that teaches newbies how to go through this (eg. ps, top, PHP xdebug, MySQL Explain, etc.)?

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!
    Things I would do first....

Make sure I have a dual or quad cpu board...and try to get some nice intel harpertowns in there.
    Max out my ram.