Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Hi folks, Machine-1 OpenVZ Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy - Host Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy - Guests Machine-2 Xen Debian Etch - Host Debian Etch - Guests Both machines together with their guests ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,814

    Can't ping hostname


    Hi folks,


    Machine-1
    OpenVZ
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy - Host
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy - Guests


    Machine-2
    Xen
    Debian Etch - Host
    Debian Etch - Guests


    Both machines together with their guests are working. They can ping and ssh-connect each other on IP. But they can't ping nor ssh connect each and others (both local and remote machines) on hostname. I have been playing around on hosts, hostname, resolv.conf, mailname, etc. for 2 days without a solution. Please help. TIA


    B.R.
    satimis

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,677
    Is hosts configure for the systems?
    Is resolv.conf configured for the systems?
    What does host.conf look like on all systems?
    Are you running a DNS server?
    What does nslookup give you for each host?
    What does dig give you for each host?

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  3. #3
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,814
    Hi Robert,


    Putting all IPs and hostnames on /etc/host works. But there will be a long list if running 100 servers as guest on each virtual machine.


    Quote Originally Posted by Lazydog View Post
    Are you running a DNS server?
    No. Any pointer on its setup? TIA


    B.R.
    satimis

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,677
    Use your package install tool to install Bind. Then look at the examples and read this book to get things setup.

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  6. #5
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,814
    Quote Originally Posted by Lazydog View Post
    Use your package install tool to install Bind. Then look at the examples and read this book to get things setup.
    Noted with thanks


    Edit:

    "winbind" is another option. Its setup is very simple.


    B.R.
    satimis

  7. #6
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,677
    I would never suggest using an inferior product.

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  8. #7
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,760
    @Lazydog: I thought the *same* thing...

    Most admins spend a lifetime trying to *get rid of* noisy Windows broadcasts - I have no idea why someone would choose to *add* them to their network.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •