Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21
New problem, I have finished the tutorial I was following for installing the directory server, and it all went ok, with the exception of the part at the end where ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    13

    New problem, I have finished the tutorial I was following for installing the directory server, and it all went ok, with the exception of the part at the end where I was supposed to edit the /etc/lib.d/local, and that was mostly me left wondering why the file was empty. I added the lines it told me to add, saved it and execute the last two commands.

    Anyway, the problem I am having now, is with actually logging in on the directory server. when I run

    ./startconsole -u admin -a http://ubuntuFDS.******.**:*****

    it gives me a error.

    If I use the port number in the "Administration URL:" I get this error

    "Cannot connect to the Admin Server "http://blahblahblah"
    The URL is not correct or the server is not running."

    and if I leave the port number out it tells me

    "Cannot logon because of an incorrect User ID,
    Incorrect passowrd or Directory problem.

    HttpException:
    Response: HTTP/1.1. 404 Not Found
    Status: 404
    URL: http://yadayadayada:/admin-serv/authenticate"

    I think the server is running, I have executed these commands:

    start-slapd
    start-admi

    And I know the password is correct.

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    13
    Is it possible that this problem I am dealing with got something do with Java or Apache?

  3. #13
    Super Moderator Roxoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    3,846
    The problem could be caused by apache or java, but I think it's unlikely.

    When I installed this the directory data was stored in a subdirectory of the installer. To start off a particular directory service, I had to run the start method from inside that directory.

    I also got hold of some SysV scripts to allow me to start and stop fedorads as a service.
    Linux user #126863 - see http://linuxcounter.net/

  4. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    13
    I have just found out that the answer to my problem was painfully simple.

    http://ubuntuFDS.******.**:*****

    was supposed to be

    http://ubuntuFDS@******.**:*****

    I also found out that I am a idiot.

    Right now, it has accepted my password, and is taking a good long time (5 mins +) to authenticate User ID "admin". Hopefully it will work this time. After about 5-10 minutes it throws up the error messages again.

    EDIT:

    Apperently the first of my statements were untrue, altough the last onef remains true. That @ wasn't supposed to be there, apperently, it just sends FDS into a fit, and causes it to think real hard on how to torment me.

    EDIT:

    I run the console from /opt/fedora-ds/ and start-slapd and start-admin from subdirectories there, but I have confirmed that both of them are running.

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    13
    The error may be that start-admin is not working properly. This is one error I get.

    "Syntax error on line 267 of /opt/fedora-ds/admin-serv/config/httpd.conf:
    Invalid command 'DirectoryIndex* . perhaps misspelled or defined by a module not included in the server configuration
    httpd (pid 5369) already running"

  6. #16
    Super Moderator Roxoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    3,846
    Have you edited this file? Surely there shouldn't be a '*' at the end of that directive?
    Linux user #126863 - see http://linuxcounter.net/

  7. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by Roxoff View Post
    Have you edited this file? Surely there shouldn't be a '*' at the end of that directive?
    That is a typo on my part, I manually typed everything on the PC I got hooked up to the web.

    I have actually edited the file, and the first order of buisniss for me right now, is to uncommet some the line I commented out.

  8. #18
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    13
    I can't find admin when running ps. I tried running

    ps ax | grep admin, and I couldn't find it then either.

    I uncommented some of the #LoadModule stuff, and I no longer get the syntax error message when I try to run start-admin, but it only tells me that:

    "httpd (pid 5369) already running" but nothing about admin running etc.

    So, slapd is running, but apperently admin isn't.

  9. #19
    Linux Enthusiast meton_magis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    arizona
    Posts
    699
    it is possible that it is running under a different command. i would suggest

    ps aux |grep -i admin
    incase it is running as Admin or ADMIN or whatever, and if that works, just grep for whatever username the Fedora DS is running as

    (your not running it as root are you, because that is a linux no-no)
    New to the internet, technical forums, or the hacker / open source community??
    Read this to learn good posting habits http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

    RHCE for RHEL version 5
    RHCT for RHEL version 4

  10. #20
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by meton_magis View Post
    it is possible that it is running under a different command. i would suggest

    ps aux |grep -i admin
    incase it is running as Admin or ADMIN or whatever, and if that works, just grep for whatever username the Fedora DS is running as

    (your not running it as root are you, because that is a linux no-no)

    well, I set the server up from scratch, and this time I got admin running, however, I am still unable to log in.

    I have however given up on running FDS on Ubuntu, and I am going to try to run it on Fedora or Centos, which one I haven't decieded yet, but one of them. Hopefully I will be able to set it up within 4 hours, which I don't think I am going to be able to do, but whatever, at least I am trying.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •