Find the answer to your Linux question:
HI, I am new to linux and postfix. I would really appreciate any help. I wrote a python script to extract mime-attachments from email received at the postfix server but ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Postfix Filter

HI,

I am new to linux and postfix. I would really appreciate any help. I wrote a python script to extract mime-attachments from email received at the postfix server but only for the local user i.e. for the ones saved in the folder /var/mail/$USER. But now I want to run the same script before the mails are dropped into the respective mailboxes, so I can do the same for all the recipients. For this I looked at the following link:

Postfix After-Queue Content Filter
    and made the specified changes in the master.cf file for the Simple Content Filter.

My python script: extractattachmentnew.py

#!/usr/bin/env python

import sys, os, string, mimetools, multifile, email, errno, mimetypes
    import mailbox
    import pdb
    import MySQLdb
    from optparse import OptionParser
    from email.Utils import parsedate
    import random
    import md5

directory = "/home/scofmon/Desktop/Spam Analysis Stuff/Extracted Mail"

def extract(msg):
    for part in e_msg.walk():
    try:
    conn = MySQLdb.connect(db="spamattachments",host="localho st",user="",passwd="");
    #................
    #done something here

conn.close()
    print "Disconnected<br/>"
    #sys.exit(0)

def main():
    msgfile = "/var/mail/scofmon"
    fp = open(msgfile, 'r')
    mb = mailbox.UnixMailbox(fp, email.message_from_file)
    msg = mb.next()
    while msg is not None:
    #document = msg.fp.read()
    extract(msg)
    msg = mb.next()
    fp.close()
    print "fp disconnected"

if __name__ == "__main__":
    main()

changes in master.cf:

smtp inet n - - - - smtpd
    -o content_filter=filter:dummy

filter unix - n n - 10 pipe