Find the answer to your Linux question:
Helo, this is my first time here, I had search some threads, couldn't find someone with the same problem... I have a PC (linux fedora 9) connected (eth5) to a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Problem sending e-mail to hotmail...

Helo, this is my first time here, I had search some threads, couldn't find someone with the same problem...

I have a PC (linux fedora 9) connected (eth5) to a modem (2wire), another nic (eth0) connected to a hub and two more PCs (windows OSs), everything works great, the web, the DHCP for the private network, samba, etc...

My problem is that I can't send e-mails to hotmail's accounts, I have test to other e-mails servers and it works but not hotmail... I think I know why... but I don't know how to fix it...

when I do a nslookup myserver.freedomain.com it gives this...

#nslookup myserver.freedomain.com
    Server: home
    Address: 192.168.1.254

Non-authoritative answer:
    Name: myserver.freedomain.com
    Address: 189.159.209.xxx

but if I do a reverse lookup it gives me this...

#nslookup 189.159.209.xxx
    Server: home
    Address: 192.168.1.254

Name: dsl-189-159-209-xxx.prod-infinitum.com.mx
    Address: 189.159.209.xxx

so doing a direct host.domain lookup gives me my machine, but the reverse lookup gives me my gateway modem... how can I fix it to give me my host.domain machine???

I don't know if that could be done or if that's the problem or WTF???

to test how its seen from the outside you need to run the checks externally, something like this works nicely
    Ip Tools, DNS tools, internet tools, WHOIS, traceroute, ping, domain name tools

that said, what mta are you using and what errors show up in the log when you try to send to hotmail? or better yet, try and send (from this machine) and email to hotmail using telnet
    telnet email - Google Search