Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Okay, the lisa service is running, and the smb service is running, but when i go home and try to browse local network, it comes up with the error that ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    123

    Samba Lisa and fedora core 2


    Okay, the lisa service is running, and the smb service is running, but when i go home and try to browse local network, it comes up with the error that lisa isnt running.

    Now this happened last install, but that was because i forgot samba (duh) and what i threw that on, everything was happy.

    Now samba is there, and well.. im unhappy. :C its still not working!

    Anyone else know what i need to be able to browse local network?
    /skythra

  2. #2
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    try typing smb:/ or smb:/// into the address bar of konquer (im assuming your in KDE, b/c of the whole lisa thing, if im wrong let me know)
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    123
    says: "Internal error: Please send a bug report to blah at blah. unknown error in stat Network is unreachable"

    But im posting from here, so obviously samba is dying in the ass. reinstall samba?
    /skythra

  4. #4
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    its worth a shot, but its unlikly that the samba server is casuing the problems, there are several programs that can read using the samba client. try smb2k or linneighborhood and see how those work for you.
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    123
    Personally i would much prefer lisa over Linneighbourhood etc just for the simplicity of just plain browsing the network without the mounting etc, there are quite a few on the network that i like to share files with for download saving sake...

    I had it working last time i installed using these cd's so, i know there is a way, does anyone know what lisa requires to run? anything apart from samba?
    /skythra

  6. #6
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    but if linneihgborhood works it lets you know more. Basicaly try a reinstall of both samba and lisa (yum install samba && yum install lisa) see how it goes
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

  7. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    123
    my mistake =] im trying to reinstall via yum the samba and lisa.

    taking its time xD ill work out linneighbourhood when this doesnt work =D

    well lisa sucks and didnt reinstall but after samba did, the command smb:/// managed to be able to browse the local network!

    Thats freaking awesome (again) and once again the simple things win the day.

    But yeah thanks for all the help mate =D
    /skythra

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •