Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi. I'm new to servers so I will be thankful for any help. I am looking for some recommendations as to what I might look at for a server software ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Recommendations for server software

Hi. I'm new to servers so I will be thankful for any help.
    I am looking for some recommendations as to what I might look at for a server software configuration. Or if it would even be worth it to use a server. I am mainly doing the research at this point.
    If you have any thoughts I would like to hear them. I can refine the following as I get more information. It may take a few days for me to reply as I will have to learn as I go.

Here's the plan.
    I will be donating 5 computers built from reusable parts for a little break area for a local Sheltered Workshop. It will be for the mentally handicapped employees to use to learn some computer skills. I will be unable to maintain the server personally except for when I go once a month for a drop off/pickup.

* So far I believe that I will be using Puppy for the OS either on the PC's or network boot.(or similar)
    * This system will not be connected to the Internet at any time soon except for updating.
    * The server will start out as a way for them to get some idea of networking. And teach them some basics on Internet Safety.
    * It could also be a server with terminals or thin clients. (depending on the hardware I collect)
    * The server will also function as a print server and possibly a web server. (I would like to see them learn how to wiki or blog.)
    * If it works I have a server board with up to 4 P3's and ?? GB's of RAM (at least more than enough).
    * I will likely use AMD Athlon 1700 CPU's or better, at most 10.2 GB hard drives, with 512 MB ram minimum for the PC's.