Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I'm looking into hosting my own website from home..I've done some research and Apache seems to be quite secure and easy to set up. But I do have some ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

web & email hosting Q's

Hi,

I'm looking into hosting my own website from home..I've done some research and Apache seems to be quite secure and easy to set up.

But I do have some questions...Please bear with me because I'm very new to Linux (about a month or so experience only)

1) My network is sitting behind a router, and my broad band modem is sitting on that router with a static IP address..My computers are set up with static IP addresses...is that going to cause a problem, or should the modem be setup on the machine hosting the site?

2) this could be a very lame question, but I would like to host my emails as well..does apache support that as well or would I need another piece of software?
    If I need an email server, which one do you guys recommend? (I'm using Xandros, if that helps)

3) Do I need to install a server version the OS to run those two services or can I stick with the desktop version?

Thanks in advance for your help!

1) You'll need to configure the router to have port 80 forwarded to the IP of the box running the server.

2) Apache is a HTTP server. You need a separate server for mail. There are many varied packages for this. sendmail, qmail and exim are some of the more known ones.