Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Hi all, I am running RHEL5 server as well I have configured Apache and send mail servers. The problem is that when I check my httpd web site in remote ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! abdul raziq's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Quetta
    Posts
    74

    RHEL5 server IP to Name problem


    Hi all,

    I am running RHEL5 server as well I have configured Apache and send mail servers.
    The problem is that when I check my httpd web site in remote pc (second pc) its work fine through ip address while I check my web site on name server like linux.net it does not work. Same problem with sendmail server work with ip address but not work on name server.

    Please note some setting on my DNS output

    # nslookup linux.net
    Server: 192.168.1.211
    Address: 192.168.1.211#53

    Name: linux.net
    Address: 192.168.1.211

    # host linux.net
    linux.net has address 192.168.1.211

    [root@redhat ~]# dig linux.net

    ; <<>> DiG 9.3.3rc2 <<>> linux.net
    ;; global options: printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 12904
    ;; flags: qr aa rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 1

    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;linux.net. IN A

    ;; ANSWER SECTION:
    linux.net. 86400 IN A 192.168.1.211

    ;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
    linux.net. 86400 IN NS linux.net.

    ;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
    linux.net. 86400 IN AAAA ::1

    ;; Query time: 16 msec
    ;; SERVER: 192.168.1.211#53(192.168.1.211)
    ;; WHEN: Sun Mar 29 06:50:30 2009
    ;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 85

    Can any one help me?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    India
    Posts
    170
    Hi ,
    check the named service ..i suppose the service is not running ...
    Regards
    David Anand
    -->Success is the list of failures ...!!!

  3. #3
    Just Joined! abdul raziq's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Quetta
    Posts
    74
    Hi,

    but the service is running.

    thanks

  4. #4
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Portsmouth, UK
    Posts
    539
    Is your remote PC looking at the right DNS ?
    RHCE #100-015-395
    Please don't PM me with questions as no reply may offend, that's what the forums are for.

  5. #5
    Just Joined! abdul raziq's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Quetta
    Posts
    74
    Thanks for your replies,

    now i made some changes but now its work on and resolve name to ip in jsut local system. when i check on network it does not resolve the DNS.

    is there any more configuration required.


    Thanks
    A.Raziq

  6. #6
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Portsmouth, UK
    Posts
    539
    You'll need to configure a local DNS (bind) for your servers. Or you may just want to add the server to the hosts file on the client systems.
    RHCE #100-015-395
    Please don't PM me with questions as no reply may offend, that's what the forums are for.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •