Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I googled/searched and the latest thread about it was in 2005... which definately doesn't cut it for me... and the OP of the thread was vague in his question, and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Best Distro for Linux Servers?

I googled/searched and the latest thread about it was in 2005... which definately doesn't cut it for me... and the OP of the thread was vague in his question, and got vague answers. Anyways, my essay of questions:
    I am new to Linux, but not to webservers.

I would like to know the best Distro for a Linux Webserver which will be used for hosting my business's website. It will run Apache/PHP/mySQL. I am not projecting a huge amount of users/traffic, maybe at the start of the site it will peak at 1GB/month and maybe 4 users a day, but I would like a newbie-friendly version of Linux(not Ubuntu, I have tried it and I dislike the fact that it is more like windows vista in the fact that it has a hidden root account). Again, this server will host the website from my home FIOs connection(15mb down/3mb up) and I really don't expect much traffic for a while.

Also, I am thinking about setting up a mail server.

Help is appreciated.
    Thanks.

2 popular server choices are Debian (Ubuntu is based on Debian) and CentOS (which is Red Hat without the logo and Red Hat support)

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by L4Linux View Post
    2 popular server choices are Debian (Ubuntu is based on Debian) and CentOS (which is Red Hat without the logo and Red Hat support)
    I heard that CentOS is buggy and some programs(this is a workstation dev environment, I don't know about server) will just randomly close and the OS will crash after a while.