Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am new to Linux and the Apache server. I have been assigned a task to figure out how to create web services for the Apache server. Please give me ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question [SOLVED] Creating web services

I am new to Linux and the Apache server.

I have been assigned a task to figure out how to create web services for the Apache server.

Please give me some pointers on how to get started.

What tools do I need to start writing a web service to (for e.g.) convert temperature, entered in Celsius, to Fahrenheit.

perl, python, php, any would be good choices

php convert celsius to fahrenheit - Google Search

google is your friend also so you can try and find examples.

Just Joined!
    Thanks, jledhead.

I looked for web service programming using perl. But I couldn't find much. I'm still looking.

Any link or information on how to create a SOAP web service using PERL?

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!
    If you're going to get involved in SOAP and SOAP actions you're better off using an existing framework like Apache Axis2 - go to ws.apache.org/axis2 at least to start with.

You can do it with PERL, but I'm not sure of an easy framework to get you up and running fast.

Just Joined!
    Thanks aram535.

I dropped the PERL idea when I didn't find much help on google.

But I came across gSOAP and am trying that now.

I have now run the gSOAP toolkit on one of the examples and have a bunch of .xml files and a .wsdl file along with a client and server application file (with no extension).

Where I'm stuck at now is that I cannot follow what to do with these files now.

I know that .wsdl and the server application files go on the web server (root). I don't know how to invoke it. So I tried addressing it directly from the web browser and it returned a SOAP message with (expected) client fault - Found EOF or no data.