Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi Forum, I guess this question is akin to the meaning of life but here goes.. I am not experienced in Linux, just a beginner. We have a small business ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Linux Newbie

Question Easy and Simple Server Suggestions

Hi Forum,
    I guess this question is akin to the meaning of life but here goes..

I am not experienced in Linux, just a beginner. We have a small business and need a server to run our 5 pc workgroup. We also use Hylafax.

What would be a stable system c/w GUI we can use. Hylafax can be on sep pc if better.
    Currently use Clarkconnect but I am just not able to service this myself and support is none existant, where we live, for linux. Do not require bling. We have a router that can be used if this further simplifies things.

Current server is Gateway, Proxy, Mail & Fax.
    If router will solve Gateway & Proxy. Then we just need mail and fax & if we use sep pc for fax then just mail and data storage.

Appreciate your advice and regards, Bill

Just Joined!
    If you're not experienced and need the support I personally suggest RedHat Standard. $349/yr which is less than $30 a month for a very very stable system, and support as you need it. It comes with a slow support option, and no phone support but in a desperate situation you can always buy a single call to get support. There are a tons of people who will also support RedHat externally and they're certified (I know it doesn't take much to get it) -- its not a gold standard but its better than nothing.

Linux Newbie
    Thanks aram. Does RH Standard operate by GUI ? Support would have to be by internet & tel as site visit impractical.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!
    That's not really a redhat specific things. Linux and UNIX in general are monitored/administratered remotely using SSH, a text based tool. No GUI is required.