Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am planning to configure a caching proxy server for a system of 4000 computers. According to my research I found that squid is the most popular open source proxy ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Performance of squid+squidguard

I am planning to configure a caching proxy server for a system of 4000 computers.

According to my research I found that squid is the most popular open source proxy server available. And squidguard can be used with squid for URL filtering/content filtering,,,,

I have never used squid and squidguard before...

Can anyone please tell me Whether a proxy server running squid+squidguard support 4000 users?

I really appreciate your help..

kind regards,,

Krox88

Squid is used by ISP's, so it's theoretically possible - but I would not assign one box to do it all. I would use a cluster, possibly spread across ~5 or so boxes/VM's in different locations around the network, so that latencies are kept nice and low. It's possible to set Squid so that it has "parent" and "sibling" nodes - So that if it goes to the closest one, if it has the page, it gets it, if not, it asks it's other nodes. and therefore you get maximum efficiency. Squid is very scalable, in my opinion.

What kind of network is it? Multiple sites? One, large building? Google :P ? 4,000 is a lot to me - I've only had to manage up to 70 PC's with my Squid.

Just Joined!
    hi tarthen.

Thanks for your reply..
    This proxy is for a hospital. the computers are spread accross multiple sites.
    And all the computers are connected to the internet through the IT department in the main hospital.

The efficiency of the present proxy is good. It uses squid aswl. The problem is poor performance in URL and content filtering.Mainly it cant filter the content in the web page.