Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi friends I am a newbie to Linux, and currently is messed up while creating a proxy server for linux using squid. I hav connected my Linux machine with a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Proxy server configuration pattern required

Hi friends

I am a newbie to Linux, and currently is messed up while creating a proxy server for linux using squid.
    I hav connected my Linux machine with a static IP connection and also with a switch connected to my office LAN. Now all i want is to create a Proxy server, so that my other office (Window) machines can access internet too through Linux machine.
    Can anybody provide me a step by step configuration for this kinda proxy server, along with guidance to wat i need to do with my network settings.
    Mentionable:- M using two network cards on my system, one with Static IP and another with LAN, and both connections are working fine.

thanks in Advance....

Just Joined!
    Which Linux distro you are using?
    Did you want to configure squid to be a transport proxy server?

Just Joined!
    Hi,

The basic setup for a working squid would be to configure your ACL's and then allow access to the ACL

Create an ACL like (replace 192.168.1.0/24 with your own internal subnet):
    Code:
    acl mynetwork src 192.168.1.0/24
    then
    Code:
    http_access allow mynetwork
    Add the above lines to the relevant sections in the file; http_access line perhaps after the line http_access allow localnet

Ensure that traffic to port 3128 (default squid port) is allowed in iptables. Also configure proxy settings in the web browser on clients...

You could further tweak your config files to set up time based / host based restrictions, restrict websites that can be surfed etc....

--Syd

Just Joined!
    Hi