Find the answer to your Linux question:
Welcome, I have been using linux(red hat/fedora) for a four years, but I still consider myself a newbie. I am searching for a distro that I can use as a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Getting the right Distro

Welcome,
    I have been using linux(red hat/fedora) for a four years, but I still consider myself a newbie. I am searching for a distro that I can use as a local server. I am going to be sharing many files!(close to about 20-30gigs) I need it to be reliable and easy to install. My system = P4 2.2Ghz, 120G hd, 1.2Gig of mem, 128mb graph card, and dual ethernet. I need it to be easy to set up and get familar with. The only other experiece i have had with a lan server is a ftp server on a window$ machine. Good documentation is a good plus with me. Also, I plan to give it internet accessibility when I feel it is secure enough for the internet. Any help would be much liked.

Re: Getting the right Distro

Quote Originally Posted by alphadown
    Welcome,
    I have been using linux(red hat/fedora) for a four years, but I still consider myself a newbie. I am searching for a distro that I can use as a local server. I am going to be sharing many files!(close to about 20-30gigs) I need it to be reliable and easy to install. My system = P4 2.2Ghz, 120G hd, 1.2Gig of mem, 128mb graph card, and dual ethernet. I need it to be easy to set up and get familar with. The only other experiece i have had with a lan server is a ftp server on a window$ machine. Good documentation is a good plus with me. Also, I plan to give it internet accessibility when I feel it is secure enough for the internet. Any help would be much liked.