Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Hi, i have just found out what i am to do for my final year project for Uni, and know that i will need https protocol enabled in order to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Guru sdousley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,790

    best way to see if HTTPS is enabled


    Hi, i have just found out what i am to do for my final year project for Uni, and know that i will need https protocol enabled in order to do it. What's the best way to see if it's enabled? And if not, how to install it?
    "I am not an alcoholic, alcoholics go to meetings"
    Registered Linux user = #372327

  2. #2
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    is this in apache? the best way to check is simply attempt to connect with a browser that supports https and then try to force a secure connection.
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

  3. #3
    Linux Guru sdousley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,790
    i have tried this, but i kep getting an error saying:

    The connection to 192.168.0.1 has been terminated unexpectedly. Some data may have been transferred
    whenever i try to open https://192.168.0.1 192.168.0.1 being my webserver i get that mesage
    "I am not an alcoholic, alcoholics go to meetings"
    Registered Linux user = #372327

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    St.Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    201
    Code:
    nmap -p 443 192.168.0.1
    Should tell you if https is up and running
    Powered by Gentoo
    never ever ever use the hardened option in make.conf!

  6. #5
    Linux Guru sdousley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,790
    doesn't nmap just tell u what porrts are open on a pc? I have just tried that command, and it sez port 443/tcp is open, but i still get the error.
    "I am not an alcoholic, alcoholics go to meetings"
    Registered Linux user = #372327

  7. #6
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    /dev/random
    Posts
    404
    Quote Originally Posted by sdousley
    doesn't nmap just tell u what porrts are open on a pc? I have just tried that command, and it sez port 443/tcp is open, but i still get the error.
    A port is shown open only when there is a daemon (or service in winbloze terminology) listening on it.

    Try telnetting to port 443 - similar to telnetting to http port.
    Something like telnet myhost https or telnet myhost 443 and try to carry out the HTTP dialog as usual - just like a browser would do.
    If the server responds properly, you've got the server configured for https.
    Otherwise, looking into logs of the server might help diagnose the problem.

    The msgs returned by the server might be helpful too.
    The Unforgiven
    Registered Linux User #358564

  8. #7
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    San Antonio
    Posts
    621
    If you are getting that "some data may have been transferred" error, it is because apache is listening on port 443, but doesn't have the SSLEngine turned on. If you run 'openssl s_client -host 192.168.0.1 -port 443' it will attempt to make an SSL connection to 192.168.0.1:443. You can then type something like:

    GET / HTTP/1.0


    In order to get the default webpage.

    Best,

    Samuel
    I respectfully decline the invitation to join your delusion.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •