Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I'm fairly new to using linux for anything more than dinking around on the web and watching video's. I have a few computers running in my household and recently decided ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Home File Server ??

I'm fairly new to using linux for anything more than dinking around on the web and watching video's.

I have a few computers running in my household and recently decided it would be nice to set up one as a small network file host. First, I wish to able to drag and drop files over the LAN to and from this computer so that i am not forced to find a thumbdrive, walk across the house, copy misc.file and go back to my desktop/laptop. Second i want to be able to stream the videos/music to my xbox360/other computers. Thirdly, i wish to leave Fedora 12 running on it. The biggest purpose here is that i have a small modified laptop set up at my soldering table, which i would like to have purely to show the schematic of whatever project i design. The laptop is old, with 2 USB ports both of which are being used (mouse and keyboard) as these components on the laptop itself do not function. I do my designing on the computer i wish to use as a server or on my laptop, which is what actually prompted this server idea.

I was wondering if anyone here could help me out by pointing out any software/settings, perhaps a setup tutorial, or even a link to another thread where this may have already been covered.

(The "server" is a laptop which must remain plugged into the wall due to problems, and to ethernet as it has no wireless.)

Any help is greatly appreciated! Thanks!

{also i would like this to function between linux boxes and windows if possible}

any distro can do this, just install F12 and install samba packages to run windows file share server, just google for samba tutorials i'm sure you'll find what you need