Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello dear forum members! I'm a simple computer programmer, and I create web based software. I would like to be able to manage my own server. Everyone in hosting forums ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

How can I manage my own server?

Hello dear forum members!

I'm a simple computer programmer, and I create web based software.

I would like to be able to manage my own server.

Everyone in hosting forums say "Go get a managed one!" because they make money out of it.

And when you ask them what do you do, they say, we monitor if apps are runing, and, install patches and secure it.

So, how hard is it doing "all" this?

Can you please list what I need to learn "very well" in order to have my own server runing?

What are the most important things I need to learn?

I have time to learn it and run a server at home to learn..

How hard can it be to mess up something as stale as Debian anyway?

So, I'm open for all your ideas, suggestions and recommandation.

Just please do not say "just mess up with it" or "get a managed server."

As I said, I'm ready to mess up with it, but WHAT do I need to mess up in order to know enough to manage a server?

Thank you!

Linux Guru
    Do you understand name resolution and DNS? Then you can register a domain name and point your domain name to the public IP of your home network. (Note - your ISP must give you a *public IP.* Private IP's will not be reachable by the Internet at large. Wikipedia for public vs. private IP's.)

Do you understand networking basics? Then you can forward the ports you need for your services (web server, mail, etc.) through your home router/firewall to your server.

For a server build, there are countless tutorials.