Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello, I'm still learning linux and had a few questions. I've got a linux server running debian, and its got the newest version of mysql on it. It works fine, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Trying to connect to mysql from an outside computer

Hello, I'm still learning linux and had a few questions. I've got a linux server running debian, and its got the newest version of mysql on it. It works fine, it lets me connect through Putty from my other computer (I cant work with the actual box, its much easier to work with putty) but when I try to connect with MYSQL-front it gives me the error

"SQL execution error #1045. response from the database: Access denied for user 'root'(at)'user(at)local')using password: YES) please check the username and password. Afterwards, please ask the database administrator (internet provider) if you are allowed to connect from this computer."

So since I'm the database admin, I really can't ask myself :P anyone have any ideas to get this working?

More info: I'm connecting using my LAN IP address for the server box, and I know I'm using the right password for the root mysql account.

Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    Hi and welcome to the forum.

Did you set a password for root? If not try using 'root' as the username and no password when you login.

If you are connecting from the actual server use:
    mysql -u root -p
    Don't use the lan IP, on a few distributions mysql is listening only on 127.0.0.1 (that's local host) and it allows only local connections.

EDIT:

Hm, the title explains you are connecting from an outside box, then you should edit: /etc/my.cnf

Here edit/add:

bind-address=YOUR-IP-ADDRESS
    #skip-networking

Make sure you replace YOUR-IP-ADDRESS with your actual ip address and comment out skip-networking with a #

And restart mysql after editing this config file.

Just Joined!