Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 4 of 4
Trying to install apache by httpd-2.2.15 package. Each time I run ./configure, I get the following error. I am new to linux. Please let me know step by step what ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    8

    apache install challenge


    Trying to install apache by httpd-2.2.15 package. Each time I run ./configure, I get the following error. I am new to linux. Please let me know step by step what I need to do and show me exact links if I need to download something. Here is my error:


    ]# ./configure
    checking for chosen layout... Apache
    checking for working mkdir -p... yes
    checking build system type... i686-pc-linux-gnu
    checking host system type... i686-pc-linux-gnu
    checking target system type... i686-pc-linux-gnu

    Configuring Apache Portable Runtime library ...

    checking for APR... reconfig
    configuring package in srclib/apr now
    checking build system type... i686-pc-linux-gnu
    checking host system type... i686-pc-linux-gnu
    checking target system type... i686-pc-linux-gnu
    Configuring APR library
    Platform: i686-pc-linux-gnu
    checking for working mkdir -p... yes
    APR Version: 1.4.2
    checking for chosen layout... apr
    checking for gcc... gcc
    checking for C compiler default output file name...
    configure: error: in `/tmp/httpd-2.2.15/srclib/apr':
    configure: error: C compiler cannot create executables
    See `config.log' for more details.
    configure failed for srclib/apr

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Have you checked the contents of config.log file? Which Linux distro/version are you using? You should try Package Manager for installation.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    8
    Hi casper, you are so cool for replying. You have helped me before. No I did not use an RPM but instead, I used httpd-2.2.15.
    If I need to use the RPM package, pls let me know the exact version number and such. Below is portion of my config.log:


    uname -r = 2.6.18-164.el5
    uname -s = Linux
    uname -v = #1 SMP Tue Aug 18 15:51:54 EDT 2009

    /usr/bin/uname -p = unknown
    /bin/uname -X = unknown

    /bin/arch = i686
    /usr/bin/arch -k = unknown
    /usr/convex/getsysinfo = unknown
    /usr/bin/hostinfo = unknown
    /bin/machine = unknown
    /usr/bin/oslevel = unknown
    /bin/universe = unknown

    PATH: /usr/kerberos/sbin
    PATH: /usr/kerberos/bin
    PATH: /usr/local/sbin
    PATH: /usr/local/bin
    PATH: /sbin
    PATH: /bin
    PATH: /usr/sbin
    PATH: /usr/bin
    PATH: /root/bin


    ## ----------- ##
    ## Core tests. ##
    ## ----------- ##

    configure:2506: checking for chosen layout
    configure:2508: result: Apache
    configure:3313: checking for working mkdir -p
    configure:3329: result: yes
    configure:3346: checking build system type
    configure:3364: result: i686-pc-linux-gnu
    configure:3386: checking host system type
    configure:3401: result: i686-pc-linux-gnu
    configure:3423: checking target system type
    configure:3438: result: i686-pc-linux-gnu
    configure:3510: checking for APR
    configure:3595: result: reconfig

    ## ---------------- ##
    ## Cache variables. ##
    ## ---------------- ##

    ac_cv_build=i686-pc-linux-gnu
    ac_cv_env_CC_set=
    ac_cv_env_CC_value=
    ac_cv_env_CFLAGS_set=
    ac_cv_env_CFLAGS_value=
    ac_cv_env_CPPFLAGS_set=
    ac_cv_env_CPPFLAGS_value=
    ac_cv_env_CPP_set=
    ac_cv_env_CPP_value=
    ac_cv_env_LDFLAGS_set=
    ac_cv_env_LDFLAGS_value=
    ac_cv_env_LIBS_set=
    ac_cv_env_LIBS_value=
    ac_cv_env_build_alias_set=
    ac_cv_env_build_alias_value=
    ac_cv_env_host_alias_set=
    ac_cv_env_host_alias_value=
    ac_cv_env_target_alias_set=
    ac_cv_env_target_alias_value=
    ac_cv_host=i686-pc-linux-gnu
    ac_cv_mkdir_p=yes
    ac_cv_target=i686-pc-linux-gnu

    ## ----------------- ##
    ## Output variables. ##
    ## ----------------- ##

    APACHECTL_ULIMIT=''
    APR_BINDIR=''
    APR_CONFIG=''
    APR_INCLUDEDIR=''
    APR_VERSION=''
    APU_BINDIR=''
    APU_CONFIG=''
    APU_INCLUDEDIR=''
    APU_VERSION=''
    AP_BUILD_SRCLIB_DIRS=''
    AP_CLEAN_SRCLIB_DIRS=''
    AP_LIBS=''
    AWK=''
    BUILTIN_LIBS=''
    CC=''
    CFLAGS=''
    CORE_IMPLIB=''
    CORE_IMPLIB_FILE=''
    CPP=''
    CPPFLAGS=''
    CXX=''
    CXXFLAGS=''
    DEFS=''
    DSO_MODULES=''
    ECHO_C=''
    ECHO_N='-n'
    ECHO_T=''
    EGREP=''
    EXEEXT=''
    EXTRA_CFLAGS=''
    EXTRA_CPPFLAGS=''
    EXTRA_CXXFLAGS=''
    EXTRA_INCLUDES=''
    EXTRA_LDFLAGS=''
    EXTRA_LIBS=''
    GREP=''
    HTTPD_LDFLAGS=''
    HTTPD_VERSION=''
    INCLUDES=''
    INSTALL=''
    INSTALL_DSO=''
    INSTALL_PROG_FLAGS=''
    LDFLAGS=''
    LIBOBJS=''
    LIBS=''
    LIBTOOL=''
    LN_S=''
    LTCFLAGS=''
    LTFLAGS=''
    LTLIBOBJS=''
    LT_LDFLAGS=''
    LYNX_PATH=''
    MKDEP=''
    MKINSTALLDIRS=''
    MK_IMPLIB=''
    MODULE_CLEANDIRS=''
    MODULE_DIRS=''
    MOD_ACTIONS_LDADD=''
    MOD_ALIAS_LDADD=''
    MOD_ASIS_LDADD=''
    MOD_AUTHNZ_LDAP_LDADD=''
    MOD_AUTHN_ALIAS_LDADD=''
    MOD_AUTHN_ANON_LDADD=''
    MOD_AUTHN_DBD_LDADD=''
    MOD_AUTHN_DBM_LDADD=''
    MOD_AUTHN_DEFAULT_LDADD=''
    MOD_AUTHN_FILE_LDADD=''
    MOD_AUTHZ_DBM_LDADD=''
    MOD_AUTHZ_DEFAULT_LDADD=''
    MOD_AUTHZ_GROUPFILE_LDADD=''
    MOD_AUTHZ_HOST_LDADD=''
    MOD_AUTHZ_OWNER_LDADD=''
    MOD_AUTHZ_USER_LDADD=''
    MOD_AUTH_BASIC_LDADD=''
    MOD_AUTH_DIGEST_LDADD=''
    MOD_AUTOINDEX_LDADD=''
    MOD_BUCKETEER_LDADD=''
    MOD_CACHE_LDADD=''
    MOD_CASE_FILTER_IN_LDADD=''

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Engineer rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    the hills
    Posts
    1,134
    configure: error: C compiler cannot create executables
    Most likely, some component of your C compiler is not installed.
    But Casper is right. You should be able to install Apache without
    compiling it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •