Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello, I'm brand new to MySQL in the linux environment, particularly in the command line aspect. What I'm wondering is how to allow myself to connect to my server from ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

allow remote mysql

Hello,

I'm brand new to MySQL in the linux environment, particularly in the command line aspect.

What I'm wondering is how to allow myself to connect to my server from home via MySQL GUI interfaces such as Navicat. I've just made the move from shared hosting to dedicated server, on the shared hosting all was done via convenient web interfaces to allow access and create the databases, so now I am lost.

Ideally what I would like to be able to do from start to finish is:

1) create the databases (empty ones) via command line.
    2) assign users to certain databases
    3) allow those users to connect both via localhost (for the websites to run off of) and via remote clients such as from my home or office, with full permissions.

I tried some guides I found online but they always lead to access denied messages, so I just scrapped the whole MySQL installation and now have a clean one to go with what people tell me here.

The version is 5.0.77.

I know the connection itself was being established as I could telnet to port 3306 from home, in addition to the access denied messages in Navicat, so I'm quite confident that on that end all was well.

Also, I am on a dynamic IP, so I would need to change fairly often.

Thanks very much in advance for any help.

1) create the databases (empty ones) via command line.

CREATE DATABASE <db_name>;

2) assign users to certain databases

CREATE USER my_new_user'@'server_ip' IDENTIFIED BY 'user_password';
    GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES ON <database>.<table> TO 'my_new_user'@'server_ip';