Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, This is my first post here, but I hope i nailed to post it in the correct subforum While having a summer-break from the university I work as a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Server distro, file buffering and filesystem

Hi,

This is my first post here, but I hope i nailed to post it in the correct subforum

While having a summer-break from the university I work as a developer at a local company. While most of the software is developed for Windows, I have gotten a little deal about setting up a linux server, which will host some simple internal services.

Its going to be a very basic server setup, the MOST important thing being that it is a very efficient file-server, on which the windows clients can access files.

It will also host some basic services (I'll write a bash script for pulling files to backup and sending to FTP each night, i have some indexing programs i wrote in C so they will also be easy to port, and it will run a single mysql server). Very basic stuff.

The "problem" is that there is about a million small shared files, which will be accessed often and randomly(as well as some large data files which will also be written to often). Access time has to be very fast, something which the old server doesn't handle really well(also it tends to not update the shared file table, which means that newly accessed files sometimes aren't available). Also, we have a problem with fragmentation when writing the large files. This is where my question about file systems comes in: Should I simply choose ext4, or is there a better alternative for this scenario?