Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Ok, excuse me if this is a little on the noob side. I installed Centos 5.latest version and then installed Apache 2.0.63. For some reason I cannot access my server ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    6

    Issue reaching server


    Ok, excuse me if this is a little on the noob side. I installed Centos 5.latest version and then installed Apache 2.0.63. For some reason I cannot access my server using the IP Address. when I do a hostname --ip it gives me a 67.*.*.* address, but I can terminal into it using the 192.168.1.3 ip i gave it. Any ideas on what I am missing here.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer Kloschüssel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    773
    is this server behind a router/firewall? if so set up proper port forward rules in your firewall.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    6
    my setup is comcast cable modem -> linksys wrt54g w/ built in 4 port switch -> server

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    the hills
    Posts
    1,134
    Are you trying to reach the server from the internet?

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    6
    No, this should simply be a internal server for my web development projects. i have a hosted server for live sites that i do not admin.

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    the hills
    Posts
    1,134
    If you have other computers connected to the same router,
    they should be on the same subnet as the server, or rather, if
    a pc automatically gets an address in the 192.168.1 range, then that
    is the appropriate address for the server. You should be able
    to reach it by that address.

  7. #7
    Linux Engineer Kloschüssel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    773
    Quote Originally Posted by rcgreen View Post
    If you have other computers connected to the same router,
    they should be on the same subnet as the server, or rather, if
    a pc automatically gets an address in the 192.168.1 range, then that
    is the appropriate address for the server. You should be able
    to reach it by that address.
    correct. you probably entered the public ip address to access your server/router, or am i wrong? if so, just enter the local IP (out of 192.168.1.0/24) address and you're settled.

    SIDENOTE:
    if you get confused with networks and how data "flows" through it, draw yourself a small picture with all subnets on it and put connections in between where one can pass the borders of the subnets into another subnet. this really helps to understand complicated configurations and to find possible problems as it is much easier if you visualize it in some or the other way.

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    6
    No I am entering in the 192.168.1.3 address that I set up in the server. My other server is at 192.168.1.2 and the router is accessed via the 192.168.1.1. The subnet is 255.255.255.0.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    6
    I ran an ifconfig and here is the output:
    Code:
    [*********@sandy ~]# ifconfig
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:08:74:DC:84:19
              inet addr:192.168.1.3  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              inet6 addr: fe80::208:74ff:fedc:8419/64 Scope:Link
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:120 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:92 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:100
              RX bytes:13103 (12.7 KiB)  TX bytes:12113 (11.8 KiB)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •