Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Hi there I just finished all the steps in this link ( http://ca.samba.org/samba/docs/man/S...html#id2508147 ) to start using samba and connect to my brother's xp box. Now, the installations are done, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User sheds's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    ??????????
    Posts
    342

    Using Samba


    Hi there

    I just finished all the steps in this link (http://ca.samba.org/samba/docs/man/S...html#id2508147) to start using samba and connect to my brother's xp box. Now, the installations are done, i edited the smb.config file, i started the service and i have rebooted my computer. But um, where's the windows like "network places" or the linux resemblant way of actually viewing the files?

    I don't know whether to post part of my smb.config file, just in case i messed up and you smarties can help me out with it. Tell me if you need that.

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    WGS84 phi = 45 48 31.7 lambda = 15 57 49.0
    Posts
    65
    first of all, why the reboot???

    windows like network places, are accessible via konqueror (KDE) just type
    smb://name_of_workgrup/share

    i don't know of any other...

  3. #3
    Linux User sheds's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    ??????????
    Posts
    342
    It's probably a windows flashback, whenever i set up a network, you are prompt to reboot, so? Jejeje. And by the way, i get a "could not connect to host workgroupname". I figured something's wrong with my config file. Here it is:
    Code:
    #======================= Global Settings =====================================
    [global]
    
    # 1. Server Naming Options:
    # workgroup = NT-Domain-Name or Workgroup-Name
       workgroup = INICIOMS
    
    # netbios name is the name you will see in "Network Neighbourhood",
    # but defaults to your hostname
      netbios name = Rafa's
    
    # server string is the equivalent of the NT Description field
       server string = LinuxBox
    Those are the only lines i edited, so there's no need to post the rest.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    WGS84 phi = 45 48 31.7 lambda = 15 57 49.0
    Posts
    65
    netbios name = Rafa's
    First thing that pokes my eyes is the use of ' in your netbios name, u should not use it, or any of the special chars ?#'"....

    U can try a few things:

    1. make sure smbd and nmbd services are running
    2. check the output of
    Code:
    smbclient -L localhost
    and look for your workgroup
    3.
    Code:
    nmblookup -RS name_of_workgroup
    there should be at least 7 items listed

    also please post full smb.conf if problems persist

  6. #5
    Linux User sheds's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    ??????????
    Posts
    342
    I ran these steps and got some info, and no errors thanks to god. I will try and run it one more time.

    Ok, i ran smb://INICIOMS/share like you said and i got this error: "Unknown error Hmm...". This sounds like hell. Here's what i got from those commands you wrote there.
    Code:
    [root@00e0295c9f23 samba]# smbclient -L localhost
    added interface ip=10.27.250.39 bcast=10.27.255.255 nmask=255.255.0.0
    Password:
    Domain=[INICIOMS] OS=[Unix] Server=[Samba 2.2.7a]
    
            Sharename      Type      Comment
            ---------      ----      -------
            print$         Disk
            pdf-generator  Printer   PDF Generator (only valid users)
            IPC$           IPC       IPC Service (LinuxBox)
            ADMIN$         Disk      IPC Service (LinuxBox)
    
            Server               Comment
            ---------            -------
            ALVAREZ-2ZHLA9Q      alvarez
            RAFA'S               LinuxBox
    
            Workgroup            Master
            ---------            -------
            INICIOMS             ALVAREZ-2ZHLA9Q
    [root@00e0295c9f23 samba]# nmb
    nmbd       nmblookup
    [root@00e0295c9f23 samba]# nmblookup -RS INICIOMS
    querying INICIOMS on 10.27.255.255
    10.27.250.39 INICIOMS<00>
    10.27.250.25 INICIOMS<00>
    Looking up status of 10.27.250.39
            RAFA'S          <00> -         B <ACTIVE>
            RAFA'S          <03> -         B <ACTIVE>
            RAFA'S          <20> -         B <ACTIVE>
            INICIOMS        <00> - <GROUP> B <ACTIVE>
            INICIOMS        <1e> - <GROUP> B <ACTIVE>
    It seems that some part is working. I went into several sites to check for some info on samba config errors, but none exist. Should i see nmbd, smbd and winbindd running with the top command? Should i run them everytime i want to use Samba?

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    WGS84 phi = 45 48 31.7 lambda = 15 57 49.0
    Posts
    65
    Man, u got to upgrade your samba, your vesrsion 2.2.7.a was released back in the 2002
    I think 3.0.9 is the latest release.

    From the output samba, seams that it works...
    but anyway just to make try typing
    Code:
    ps -axu |grep mbd
    the output should be someting like
    Code:
    root     16758  0.0  0.3  6828 1592 ?        Ss   Nov19   0&#58;01 /usr/sbin/smbd -D
    root     16760  0.0  0.2  3800 1360 ?        Ss   Nov19   0&#58;19 /usr/sbin/nmbd -D
    I also noticed that u r trying to run winbindd, why , u don't need for basic samba operation

    Also some other pointers:
    Sharename Type Comment
    --------- ---- -------
    print$ Disk
    pdf-generator Printer PDF Generator (only valid users)
    IPC$ IPC IPC Service (LinuxBox)
    ADMIN$ Disk IPC Service (LinuxBox)
    check what is your share name print$
    try to keep your smb.conf as simple as possible, and i mean that, u can build it up later...
    use only one share...

    u can try connecting to your local share using
    Code:
    smbclient --user=username_u_created //inicoms/print$
    also check that your firewall isn't blocking 137/tcp 137/udp 139/tcp 139/udp, as they ar the basic ports samba uses

  8. #7
    Linux User sheds's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    ??????????
    Posts
    342
    I might as well go ahead and start over with the newer version, you've just spoken to me in chinese. I have no idea how to configure or even the commands to get into my firewall.

    Here's the code you told me type in a terminal and it's result:
    Code:
    &#91;root@00e0295c9f23 etc&#93;# ps -axu |grep mbd
    Bad syntax, perhaps a bogus '-'?
    root      1763  0.0  0.8  5188 2280 ?        S    23&#58;32   0&#58;00 smbd -D
    root      1773  0.0  0.6  3920 1736 ?        S    23&#58;32   0&#58;00 nmbd -D
    root      2319  0.0  0.2  1724  604 pts/1    R    23&#58;45   0&#58;00 grep mbd

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    WGS84 phi = 45 48 31.7 lambda = 15 57 49.0
    Posts
    65
    your result show that samba is running, now about the firewall, if u don't understand what i mean, then u don't have to worry about it, because default configuration, on Mandrake, does not block this ports....

    Now when u install the new version, use the KISS (Keep It Stupid, Simple) principle when configuring samba....[/quote]

  10. #9
    Linux User sheds's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    ??????????
    Posts
    342
    Here's what i'll do: i'm gonna download a newer version, and try to install it as the manual says, as i usually do. After the installation, i'll come back here cause i am going to have problems, as i usually get. Jejejeje.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •