Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi guys, Hope you are all well, i'm pretty new to linux and I am in need of setting up a server. I downloaded Ubuntu server and tried to go ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Linux Server - Choosing the right one - Help please :)

Hi guys,

Hope you are all well,

i'm pretty new to linux and I am in need of setting up a server.

I downloaded Ubuntu server and tried to go through the ubuntu guide to set it up, getting bogged down with all the code!

Therefore I was wondering if anyone knows of any linux server distributions where I can set up a domain controller, simple file network, usernames and passwords, so that lets say 5 windows computers can join the domain, people log in using there username and passwords and access shared files located on the server. Preferably it would be good if it is a distribution with a GUI, or coded which has a very very good guide attached.

Thanks in advance!!

Sav

Hello. You can install debian as server OS, because it is very stable distribution. For setting up domain controller you must use samba package, it is very simple to configure it. If you need a GUI, samba has web interface, called "SWAT". BTW, you can also install webmin, to manage with web interface you debian configuration.

oz
    forum.guy
    Quote Originally Posted by aliveghost View Post
    Preferably it would be good if it is a distribution with a GUI, or coded which has a very very good guide attached.
    Hello and welcome to the forums!

I believe you'll find that most server distros don't come with a GUI, but you can add one to any of them. In addition, you can use any distro for a server with some modifications and tweaking. I'm not familiar with any server distros that come with a guide attached. In most cases, you can find various guides online with some serious googling.