Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I have installed MySQL from source on a FreeBSD box on several occassions but I opted to give the rpm a go when I installed it earlier onto my RH7.3 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User Allblack's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Godzone
    Posts
    416

    MySQL rpm and starting issues


    I have installed MySQL from source on a FreeBSD box on several occassions but I opted to give the rpm a go when I installed it earlier onto my RH7.3 box.

    It looks like the mysqld daemon is running.I can also see the data location but I cannot seem to get into mysql. Actually I cannot see mysql or mysqladmin. I have installed MySQL-4.0.13-server.rpm. Do I need to install other rpm as well?

    Any Ideas about where I went wrong?

    Cheers

  2. #2
    Linux User Allblack's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Godzone
    Posts
    416
    looks like I needed the client as well

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    796
    Use locate to try to find your mysql-binary like

    Code:
    locate mysql
    And check if you find anything...maybe the PATH-variable was not updated or something. If you find mysql-binary try to execute it on direct path like /usr/local/bin/mysql..

    Regards

    Regards

    Andutt

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux User Allblack's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Godzone
    Posts
    416
    Thanks,

    It was working fine after installing the client as well. When I restarted this morning it didn't cause it could not find the mysql.sock file. Turned out that the mysqld daemon was not running. It was my understanding that by installing it from rpm the daemon would be automatically started.
    Being new to linux, where would the rpm place the startup scripts?

    Cheers

  6. #5
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    When you install the RPM, it does install a startup script, but it doesn't actually set it up to be started automatically. To set it up to be automatically started on boot, use the service configuration program that comes with the system. I don't remember its name on RH7.3, though. Try serviceconf. And make sure to activate it in runlevel 3, 4 and 5.

  7. #6
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    796
    USe chkconfig on rh.
    Regards

    Andutt

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •