Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
i am running centOS 5.7 i think it is my server that i connect to via ssh it is a very far distance away. Anyways i installed apache and set ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie champ_weller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    106

    checking apache


    i am running centOS 5.7 i think it is my server that i connect to via ssh it is a very far distance away. Anyways i installed apache and set it up to start on boot well. i want to run firefox so i can check if Open Source and Linux Forums is working but i cant forward x using

    Code:
    ssh -X root@serverip
    because when i run firefox it says error no display specified. Anywho how can i check if Open Source and Linux Forums works any suggestions

    btw the local machine is running ubuntu 11.04

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    22
    Check the config of ssh in server.

    X11Forwarding yes

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie champ_weller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    106
    where do i find the config file i did
    Code:
    ls .ssh
    on both machines remote and local and all i can find is known_hosts

    oh btw my first post should say http:// localhost

    not the open source and linux forums

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    50
    it is in /etc/ssh/sshd_config

  6. #5
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,353
    If you can't get X redirection working, you can always use a text-based browser, e.g.:
    Code:
    lynx -dump http://localhost
    EDIT: oh yeah, make sure apache is running on remote CentOS box, too:

    Code:
    service httpd status
    and btw, can't you just connect to the ip address in firefox, instead of connecting locally and exporting your display?, e.g.:

    Code:
    firefox http://$serverip
    Last edited by atreyu; 10-27-2011 at 01:02 PM. Reason: apache running?

  7. #6
    Linux Newbie champ_weller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    106
    alright ill try the lynx command do i am guessing i need to install it unless it is on installed by default.

    and to i dont quite understand your last command am i running it on the local machine or the remote machine? what exactly does that do.

    I would appreciate it if you elaborated on the last command

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •