Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 3 of 3
VB Network settings (info from VB support forum): 2 separate adapters: 1 - Host-only Adapter (to connect CentOS on VB to Win7) and 2 - NAT (to enable Internet access ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    10

    Win7 - VirtualBox - CentOS6


    VB Network settings (info from VB support forum):
    2 separate adapters: 1 - Host-only Adapter (to connect CentOS on VB to Win7) and 2 - NAT (to enable Internet access for CentOS).

    HOST-ONLY ADAPTER:

    "With host only networking virtual machines can talk to each other and the host as if they were connected through a physical ehternet switch. Similarly, as with internal networking however, a physical networking interface need not be present, and the virtual machines cannot talk to the world outside the host since they are not connected to a physical networking interface."

    NAT:

    "A virtual machine with NAT enabled acts much like a real computer that connects to the Internet through a router. The “router”, in this case, is the VirtualBox networking engine, which maps traffic from and to the virtual machine transparently. The disadvantage of NAT mode is that, much like a private network behind a router, the virtual machine is invisible and unreachable from the outside internet; you cannot run a server this way unless you set up port forwarding."

    I looked at some tutorials, but I am stil wondering about few things:

    1) Do I need to change the hostname in Linux and assign it a FDQ name etc
    2) What configuration changes should I make to /etc/httpd/confg/httpd.confg and /etc/sysconfig/network

    I am gonna make MySQL and Apache start after every boot, but then

    3) What address am I gonna use in, lets say IE browser on Win to access Apache on Virtual Box
    4) How is it gonna work with SHH (what address, do I need ports etc)

    5) What are the other settings involved.

    There is some info about it on the net, but it's kind of hard to get it all together.
    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    10
    Here is some additional info:

    CENTOS:

    [root@localhost ~]# ifconfig eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 08:00:27:2B:94:89
    inet addr:192.168.56.101 Bcast:192.168.56.255 Mask:255.255.255.0 inet6 addr: fe80::a00:27ff:fe2b:9489/64 Scope:Link UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1 RX packets:138 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0 TX packets:31 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0 collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 RX bytes:17657 (17.2 KiB) TX bytes:6173 (6.0 KiB)

    eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 08:00:27:2B:FC:6D
    inet addr:10.0.3.15 Bcast:10.0.3.255 Mask:255.255.255.0 inet6 addr: fe80::a00:27ff:fe2b:fc6d/64 Scope:Link UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1 RX packets:2167 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0 TX packets:2091 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0 collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 RX bytes:943172 (921.0 KiB) TX bytes:194809 (190.2 KiB)

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0 inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1 RX packets:12 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0 TX packets:12 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0 collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 RX bytes:720 (720.0 b) TX bytes:720 (720.0 b)



    WIN7

    C:>ipconfig

    Windows IP Configuration

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    IPv4 Address: 62.21.38.13 Subnet Mask: 255.255.254.0 Default Gateway: 62.21.32.1

    Ethernet adapter VirtualBox Host-Only Network:

    IPv4 address: 192.168.56.1 Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0 Default Gateway: (empty)




    192.168.56.101 works from withing Linux (it goes to the default Apache page), but not from Windows. 192.168.56.1 does not work anywhere

    I can ping both 192.168.56.1 and 192.168.56.101 from Win cmd and get results...
    Last edited by jtt89; 11-20-2011 at 11:42 PM.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Roxoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    3,847
    Quote Originally Posted by jtt89 View Post
    I looked at some tutorials, but I am stil wondering about few things:

    1) Do I need to change the hostname in Linux and assign it a FDQ name etc
    2) What configuration changes should I make to /etc/httpd/confg/httpd.confg and /etc/sysconfig/network

    I am gonna make MySQL and Apache start after every boot, but then

    3) What address am I gonna use in, lets say IE browser on Win to access Apache on Virtual Box
    4) How is it gonna work with SHH (what address, do I need ports etc)

    5) What are the other settings involved.

    There is some info about it on the net, but it's kind of hard to get it all together.
    Thank you.
    It would probably help quite a bit to use a FQDN for your Linux system. You should ensure that it's using a static IP address, and that your network's DNS system can resolve that name down to the FQDN you assign to the virtual Linux machine.

    If you do that, then it answers your other questions in this list - it provides the address marker for you to point other machines at to use the SSH and Apache services on the virtual machine.
    Linux user #126863 - see http://linuxcounter.net/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •