Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
hey, i was wondering if anyone could tell me how or set me in the right direction in setting up a good web server on Redhat 9. make it as ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

help with web server and email server

hey, i was wondering if anyone could tell me how or set me in the right direction in setting up a good web server on Redhat 9. make it as simple as possible cause i am pretty new to linux. i know the basic commands and that is about it. i want to set up a web server and an email server but i dont no how. i have read a few tutorials but they havent done much good.

thanks BIG K

Linux Guru
    Apache is pretty much the de-facto linux web server, for a quick install guide to install apache 1.3x with PHP, follow the command here:
    http://www.php.net/manual/en/install.apache.php

and for 2.x follow these commands:
    http://www.php.net/manual/en/install.apache2.php

Alternativly, with Redhat, there will proberly be an RPM if you dont want to compile from source as above. Personally, i would compile from source.

As for the debate between 1.3x and 2x apache versions, i would have to say choose 1.3x as it has a longer track record, and has "proved" itself as such, where as 2x still has vulnerabilities being discovered each month.

In terms of email server, the 2 big players are Sendmail, and Exim. Personally, i use exim, and exim is generally seen as more secure. I have the commands i used to install exim on this server written down at home, i will paste them up after work.

Are you going to be hosting multiple domains from your web/mail server? or is it just a testing server or even a server for a single site? after you have apache installed, how you configure it will depend on the answers to those questions.

Jason