Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
I have a server with Ubuntu 10.04LTS that I have been running for some time, no problems connecting to the net, updating Ubuntu etc. I also have a billion router ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    10

    can't connect to router from server


    I have a server with Ubuntu 10.04LTS that I have been running for some time, no problems connecting to the net, updating Ubuntu etc.
    I also have a billion router that I upgraded the firmware on it since then something has changed and I have not been able to ping the router from the server.
    Using the domain address I can connect to the server externally so incoming works fine just can't connect out. Any help would greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Linux User Krendoshazin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    471
    It sounds like the IP address of the router may have changed due to the firmware upgrade. If you're getting an IP address through DHCP, then it makes perfect sense that it would still work even with a different IP address on the router. Try running the command route as root and you should find the IP address there - it will be listed as the gateway address.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    10
    This is the route information

    Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
    192.168.1.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth1
    link-local * 255.255.0.0 U 1000 0 0 eth1
    default 192.168.1.1 0.0.0.0 UG 100 0 0 eth1

    does this look to you Krendoshazin I am not sure myself?

  4. #4
    Linux User Krendoshazin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    471
    Quote Originally Posted by peterp53 View Post
    This is the route information
    Code:
    Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric   Ref    Use Iface
    192.168.1.0     *                 255.255.255.0       U     0        0        0 eth1
        link-local      *                 255.255.0.0          U     1000   0        0 eth1
    default         192.168.1.1     0.0.0.0                 UG   100     0        0 eth1
    It looks like your gateway IP is 192.168.1.1, the other 2 can be ignored. Try pinging that IP and see what you get.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    10
    This is what I am getting

    PING 192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
    ping: sendmsg: Operation not permitted
    ping: sendmsg: Operation not permitted
    ping: sendmsg: Operation not permitted


    If "default 192.168.1.1 0.0.0.0 UG 100 0 0 eth1" is what it is using. Then is the netmask wrong because on the router it is 255.255.255.0

    the other thing is the "DHCP Server" on the router is using 192.168.1.1 to 192.168.1.20 should the range be above the the gateway ip or doesn't matter?

  6. #6
    Linux User Krendoshazin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    471
    Genmask is not the netmask as far as I'm aware. I can't give you an exact explanation as to what it is, but here is mine:
    Code:
    bash-4.0# route
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination      Gateway         Genmask           Flags Metric Ref    Use  Iface
    default           192.168.0.254  0.0.0.0             UG     0        0        0   eth2
    192.168.0.0     *                   255.255.255.0   U       0        0        0   eth2
    and this is my main system:
    Code:
    bash-4.0# ifconfig
    eth2      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:05:5D:DD:94:4E
                inet addr:192.168.0.1  Bcast:192.168.0.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
    As you can see the genmask on the router is different to the netmask defined on the computer.

    Are you sure that the DHCP range starts at 192.168.1.1? If the router is using that address, then I would expect it to start at 192.168.1.2. If this really is the DHCP range, then I would move the router outside of that range to avoid conflicts.

    Also for your problems with ping, try running it as root and see if that works. I think that's likely a permission problem on the computer itself.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    10
    Hi Krendoshazin,
    Yes I see what you mean about the genmask so that can be ruled out. I changed the range of the DHCP on the router it now starts a 192.168.1.2 . I then rebooted the router and server but still get "ping: sendmsg: Operation not permitted" I pinged using sudo so it was a root command.
    Im using a book called "Ubuntu Linux Toolbox" it said to use the arp command if the gateway can't be reached I did this and the gateway did not show so I added the gateway ip and the router mac address I then pinged again still the same.
    I then did and ip neighbor command and got

    192.168.1.1 dev eth1 lladdr 00:04:ed:db:d3:e3 PERMANENT

    so it shows up

    I then did an arp command to see if I could arp my laptop on the network

    sudo arping -I eth1 192.168.1.5
    ARPING 192.168.1.5 from 192.168.1.4 eth1
    Unicast reply from 192.168.1.5 [A0:88:B4:E2:10:BC] 1.574ms

    as you can see, using a command from the server 192.168.1.4 I can arp the the laptop which is 192.168.1.5 so the gateway to the laptop must be working.

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    10
    Just thought I would let you know Krendoshazin that the probelm is fixed I finally found it. It was the gateway ip address that had changed as you suggested and it was in the /etc/network/interfaces file

    Thanks for you help

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •