Find the answer to your Linux question:
I want to connect to my computer through SSH on a different network through the internet. I believe that I need a DNS to do this because my IP only ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

DNS question?

I want to connect to my computer through SSH on a different network through the internet. I believe that I need a DNS to do this because my IP only works locally.

Is this something I have to pay for or can I just create one and connect through my ISP some how?

Please lead me in some direction, something to google, I am a complete newbie to this stuff.

I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    If you can reach the internet, and the system you are trying to connect with has a public IP address, then you should be able to connect to them using ssh, provided the remote system has enabled ssh on their system (open ssh port). If this is the case, and you are having problems, then make sure that the port they are using is the one your ssh software is trying to connect with. Example, host.domain:22 (default port for ssh), or possibly host.domain:614 (sshell). Anyway, some sites use ports other than the default (22 for ssh) in order to mislead malware that is probing for unpatched ssh installations.
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

Quote Originally Posted by iamtheguynoodles View Post
    I want to connect to my computer through SSH on a different network through the internet. I believe that I need a DNS to do this because my IP only works locally.
    When you say your IP only works locally, do you have a 10.*, 172.16.* or 192.168.* address?

Is this something I have to pay for or can I just create one and connect through my ISP some how?