Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 4 of 4
I didn't want to hijack the other thread, so here's my problem. I'm trying to connect a linux box (Mandrake 10.1) to an NT domain, just as a client. I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    5

    Samba joining NT domain #2


    I didn't want to hijack the other thread, so here's my problem. I'm trying to connect a linux box (Mandrake 10.1) to an NT domain, just as a client.

    I can ping both ways successfully, and the windows PC's can see the linux box just fine. I can join the domain using 'net rpc join ', but I cannot do anything with smbclient, I just get 'connection refused'

    Here's what the debug info from smbclient says when attempting to 'smbclient -L matthew'

    Code:
    Client started (version 3.0.7).
    internal_resolve_name: looking up matthew#20
    Opening cache file at /var/cache/samba/gencache.tdb
    Returning valid cache entry: key = NBT/MATTHEW#20, value = 192.168.0.2:0, timeout = Thu Dec 16 16:10:55 2004
    
    name matthew#20 found.
    Connecting to 192.168.0.2 at port 445
    error connecting to 192.168.0.2:445 (Connection refused)
    Connecting to 192.168.0.2 at port 139
    error connecting to 192.168.0.2:139 (Connection refused)
    Error connecting to 192.168.0.2 (Connection refused)
    lang_tdb_init: /usr/lib/samba/en_GB:en.msg: No such file or directory
    Connection to matthew failed
    Any ideas anyone?

    Cheers,
    Mark

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,267
    Simply to make sure,
    Did you specify the domain name in samba configuration, as well as the user/pass to use?

    your domain in controled by an windows nt computer? (or W2K, W2k3)
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    5
    The domain is specified in smb.conf, but not the user/password. I passed them with the net join command as in 'net rpc join NYFC -U Administrator'.

    The domain is controlled by a Win NT 4 server. IP addresses are dyamically assigned using DHCP by an ADSL router, apart from the server, which is static at 192.168.0.2

    Thanks,
    Mark

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    5
    Sorted it, and it's all my fault!

    I had got confused about the IP addresses, 192.168.0.2 is actually the router, whilst the server is at 192.168.0.1

    If I do smbclient -L matthew -I 192.168.0.1 it's all good, and I can use smb4k to connect to shares, so all is fine.

    Mark

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •