Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 38
Originally Posted by atreyu Carriage Return / Line Feed you don't have to pay godaddy or anyone else a dime to have a publicly available webserver - that is a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #21
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    96

    Quote Originally Posted by atreyu View Post
    Carriage Return / Line Feed

    you don't have to pay godaddy or anyone else a dime to have a publicly available webserver - that is a fact. however, if you purchased a domain name, you need to have your domain name registered to an IP address. if you bought that silman domain name from a registrar already, i'd guess you could do it (or already did it) thru them. at any rate, the DNS records for your domain name need to point to your public ip address, if you want to run the webserver a la your own crib. i'm not sure the best way to do it, though - i've never purchased a domain name myself.

    however, if you want tons of storage, automated backups, 24/7 reliable up-time, fancy shmancy web control panels, etc., you could pay godaddy or the like. in that case, silman.com or whatever would point to a webserver hosted by godaddy and your local webserver would have nothing to do with your website (except as a coding/testing platform). another nice feature of using a hosting company is that they won't change your public IP address on you, like your ISP will, which can cause (brief and infrequent, hopefully) site outages.
    Huh, well the reason i wanted to set up a server from home was so 1) I could learn to admin a real webserver and 2) i wouldn't have to buy hosting from a company. I just don't know how to get godaddy to point the silmanserver.com domain name to the server in my room. I guess i should call them in the mornin'.

  2. #22
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,353
    Quote Originally Posted by Silman View Post
    Huh, well the reason i wanted to set up a server from home was so 1) I could learn to admin a real webserver
    you're doing that now, and you can keep on doing that no matter who is hosting your public webserver.
    and 2) i wouldn't have to buy hosting from a company. I just don't know how to get godaddy to point the silmanserver.com domain name to the server in my room. I guess i should call them in the mornin'.
    i agree, you absolutely don't have to rent space, host it yourself, if you can get away with it. did you get silman.com thru godaddy? if so, then yes, call them - they should be helping you w/that.

  3. #23
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    96
    Quote Originally Posted by atreyu View Post
    you're doing that now, and you can keep on doing that no matter who is hosting your public webserver.
    i agree, you absolutely don't have to rent space, host it yourself, if you can get away with it. did you get silman.com thru godaddy? if so, then yes, call them - they should be helping you w/that.
    True, but i would feel bad not giving hosting from my own server a shot considering i wasted so many peoples time with troubleshooting it. Also it was my intent to get it working as my own server so i didn't have to pay! I dont need control panels from webhosting services if i can just use the ISPconfig control panel (or any other one).

    Hopefully i will be able to get it to work!

  4. #24
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,527
    Running your own server from home is possible. When you are behind a router you forward port 80 requests to your server. And you make sure that port 80 is open on your server's firewall. You don't need to do this until you want others to see the site.

    Some ISPs don't allow you to host your own servers in their terms and conditions while others actively block the ports. Bandwidth can also be a consideration. You will also need a static IP address on your internet connection, othrwise you will have to use a service like dyndns.org which will give you a domain such as silman.dyndns.org
    What do we want?
    Time machines!

    When do we want 'em?
    Doesn't really matter does it!?


    The Fifth Continent

  5. #25
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    96
    Well ****. Do people just not have home servers?! I thought that hosting a webserver from home was common!

  6. #26
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,353
    Quote Originally Posted by Silman View Post
    Do people just not have home servers?! I thought that hosting a webserver from home was common!
    it is (at least for hacky nerds like us). what have we said that makes you think otherwise? we're just saying (or at least I'm just saying...) that using a hosting provider is more reliable, that's about it, really. if you don't mind being your own tech support, you should totally be hosting/administering it yourself.

  7. #27
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    96
    Quote Originally Posted by atreyu View Post
    it is (at least for hacky nerds like us). what have we said that makes you think otherwise? we're just saying (or at least I'm just saying...) that using a hosting provider is more reliable, that's about it, really. if you don't mind being your own tech support, you should totally be hosting/administering it yourself.
    Thank you! Thats what i'm trying to get to! I was turned away when it was mentioned that a lot of ISPs block port 80 completely and don't allow any sort of hosting. I mean its not like my website is gonna be the next google (well, if it were that would be tight) so the ISP shouldn't really be concerned with traffic. And the talk about needing my ISP to give me a static IP was discouraging because i cant call them because i dont provide myself with internet .

  8. #28
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,527
    Quote Originally Posted by Silman View Post
    Well ****. Do people just not have home servers?! I thought that hosting a webserver from home was common!
    Of course we do! Not all ISPs prohibit doing so; my current one doesn't but I have limited bandwidth a month so I prefer to use it for other things. A hosting provider is a more reliable as has been said.

    You don't need a static IP but as I said you then need to use a specialist service to get a domain name. dyndns is one such service and you will get a domain such as silman.dyndns.org
    What do we want?
    Time machines!

    When do we want 'em?
    Doesn't really matter does it!?


    The Fifth Continent

  9. #29
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    96
    So for someone who has the CentOS box running already but is completely new to this do you suggest that i use a hosting service and one of their servers to start out? Or do you think its still worth it for me to try and use my box to as a server. If dyndns.com disregards the need for a static IP should i start on that? Or should i try to get a sevice that will allow me to do the same thing as dyndns except for my real domain silmanserver.com? Eventually i want to get this thing running as a server for silmanserver.com.

  10. #30
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,527
    To be honest, I wouldn't worry about that for now. Use the server to create and test your site and cross the hosting bridge when you need to.
    What do we want?
    Time machines!

    When do we want 'em?
    Doesn't really matter does it!?


    The Fifth Continent

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •