Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hey I am trying to set up a webserver (Apache) on a CentOS box. This is the first webserver i have set up so im a complete newbie. I have ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Web Server (Apache) set up for a newbie

Hey

I am trying to set up a webserver (Apache) on a CentOS box. This is the first webserver i have set up so im a complete newbie.

I have been assigned a static IP from the ISP, and it seems to have plumbed itself to an interface on my modem on a ppp0 interface. I have set up my CentOs box behind this modem and have assigned this an ip of 10.1.1.10, and have completed an AMP installation on this CentOS box.

My first question is, well, am i correct so far ? I was under the impressing the static IP should sit on the CentOS box and not on the modem.

Anyone that has just set something like this up, i would appreciate some help. This is just a very high level question to begin with as i want to make sure that i am not doing something very silly.

Just Joined!
    Hello, and welcome to the forums.

The static IP assigned to your modem is a routable IP address, or also known as a 'public IP address'. The IP you've assigned to your CentOS box is called a non-routable, or private IP. So far, so good. You always want to have a static IP on a server, for a myriad of reasons. If your intention is to allow public/internet access to the web server on your CentOS box then you should also have a static IP on your modem. Depending on your service provider, you might not have the option to assign a routable IP address to your CentOS box. To that end, I wouldn't want to be able to. You'll want a firewall in front of your web server so that only the web site(s) you are hosting are accessible, else you might as well paint a big red target on your CentOS box.