Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 30
wait! this is stupid but worth a try: try things with just an empty (but existant!) include.conf file (i.e. 'touch' it) -lakerdonald...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035

    wait!
    this is stupid but worth a try:
    try things with just an empty (but existant!) include.conf file (i.e. 'touch' it)
    -lakerdonald

  2. #12
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    Bloody hell! That worked!

    Thanks a bunch lakerdonald, next stage is to get a domain

    thanks;

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  3. #13
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    no problem
    try www.dyndns.org by the way

  4. #14
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    OK I've gone to that site, set up an account etc, but when I try to set up the DNS host, it gives the following IP 127.44.8.108, I checked the IP in a browser and it dosn't send me to my index file.

    So how do I find out what IP to put into the IP box so I can direct the domain name to my index file?

    <edit>I've found that I can access my site with the IP 192.168.1.19 on my local network, but not on the greater internet, i belive I need somehting before that IP address so that people can access my site; </edit>

    Thanks;

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  5. #15
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    St.Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    201
    If you have a dynamic ip address try dyndns.com and they will give you a domain like <you>.homelinux.com. All you have to do is update your ip every time it changes.
    Powered by Gentoo
    never ever ever use the hardened option in make.conf!

  6. #16
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    i already gave him that link.

    dylunio, there's a tool on the site which allows you to setup a daemon which tells the DNS servers what your new ip address is every time it changes

  7. #17
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    Thanks, now its up and running (hopefully) try http://dylunio.homelinux.com

    Thanks;

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  8. #18
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    Code:
    An error occurred while loading http&#58;//dylunio.homelinux.com&#58;
    Timeout on server
    Connection was to dylunio.homelinux.com at port 80

  9. #19
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    dang!

    I'll have another look at the settings.
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  10. #20
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    I have it open in the other Konqueror tab, so i'll keep pressing F5

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •