Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 30 of 30
Ok I've fiddled around a bit, i've downloaded a client and set it up (I think), but they all say my IP is 217.44.8.108, but i believe this is the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #21
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157

    Ok I've fiddled around a bit, i've downloaded a client and set it up (I think), but they all say my IP is 217.44.8.108, but i believe this is the one for my router, and thus dosn't give direct people to my site.

    People on my local network can access the site with the IP 192.168.1.19.

    So what I want to know is, how do I find out what the IP of this computer is to the world outside my network, I tried 217.44.8.108. 192.168.1.19.
    but this didn't work.

    thanks;

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  2. #22
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    you need to set up your router to forward all traffic on port 80 to 192.168.1.19
    -lakerdonald

  3. #23
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    ahh, I'll do that;

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  4. #24
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    Can someone check if either of these work, I think I've settup the router corectly, bur I'm not sure:

    http://dylunio.homelinux.net

    http://dylunio.homelinux.com

    thanks;

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  5. #25
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    .net works, .com doesn't
    -lakerdonald

  6. #26
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    Great, I had a differnet setting on each since I wan't sure of wat to do, now each is on the .net setting;

    thanks a lot;

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  7. #27
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    No problem. I tried to do that once, but I have a crappy router

  8. #28
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    My router dosn't suport loopback, so If anyone on my home network want to see my site they will have to type in my comp IP
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  9. #29
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    ?
    That doesn't make any sense. You should be able to just type 192.168.1.19 and that should work.
    -lakerdonald

  10. #30
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    that dose work,
    I was just stateing that my router didn't support anyone typing http://dylunio.homelinux.com as an adress if they were in the home network.
    It only supports the IP 192.168.1.19, which is a pity, I might settup .net as one that is accessable from my home network and .com for everyone else;

    regards;

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •