Find the answer to your Linux question:
What is the best way to set up a DNS? I have installed BIND9 but I'm new to setting up servers. I have created users with passwords. The server is ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Set up a DNS (Bind9? - <200 users - school LAN)

What is the best way to set up a DNS? I have installed BIND9 but I'm new to setting up servers. I have created users with passwords. The server is running Ubantu 13.10. I is sharing files (using SAMBA) but I don't yet have individual users limited to only changing their own files. Hence the need for a Domain Name Service so users on PCs can login from any PC workstation in the school. In total there should be no more than about 200 users on the school LAN. Is BIND9 the best DNS for my situation? Any other suggestions?

Just Joined!
    Bind9 works fine... Used it before in my ISP company... Had no issues with it...

Just Joined!
    Hi kanelbolle,
    Thanks for commenting on your experience with BIND9. It sounds like a good way to go. When I setup SAMBA, it came with a config file with a lot of comments and useful lines of text "commented out" so I just removed the \\ or ; to use those lines. My BIND9 config file is blank. Do you know where to get a config file "template" like that for BIND9?

Just Joined!
    just google
    bind9 sample configuration

you will get
    BIND9ServerHowto - Community Help Wiki

Linux Engineer
    Quote Originally Posted by MurrayPeterson View Post