Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi i have a samba server with one external hdd attached. Currently their is only one user/account and password which when logged in can access everything. In total their are ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

samba add user and folder restriction

Hi i have a samba server with one external hdd attached. Currently their is only one user/account and password which when logged in can access everything.

In total their are 14 folders on the hdd and files and sub folders within them.

I want to create another account/user with a different login and password but one logged in they can only see and fully access only three of the folders. Leaving me the admin accessing everything on my original account.

Is this possible if so how or what config should i use. I have spent days reading how to add users,permissions e.t.c and cant seem to get an understanding of what i need to do.

Thanks

Trusted Penguin
    hi,

let's assume your external drive is /dev/sdb, it has one partition (sdb1), and you've mounted it to /data.

now let's say your three dirs to be controlled are under /data/public/

the rest of your files are under the directory /data/private.

put two shares in your samba config file /etc/samba/smb.conf, e.g.:

Code:
    [private]
            comment = private
            path = /data/private
            browseable = yes
            writable = yes
            valid users = admin
            guest ok = no
            printable = no
    [public]
            comment = public
            path = /data/public
            browseable = yes
            writable = yes
            valid users = joeblow admin
            guest ok = no
    restart the samba server (e.g. service smb restart or whatever)

create those two users on the system:
    Code:
    useradd -g users joeblow
    useradd -g users admin
    add the samba accounts:
    Code: