Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 17 of 17
well, how do i use nfs or fish://?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    113

    well, how do i use nfs or fish://?
    http://fedora.rehat.com

    $> man woman
    $> Segmentation fault (core dumped)

  2. #12
    Linux Enthusiast puntmuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Republic Banana
    Posts
    562
    For fish (which is basicly ssh) you'll need to have a ssh server running. Comes standard with most distributions. In KDE applications like Konqueror I type in the address bar fish://192.168.100.100 to access my server.

    NFS needs setting up your /etc/exports file first. Better read a HOWTO about it first, it is not very difficult. After that you start your NFS and Portmap server. Then you can mount remote filesystems which you shared in your exports file.
    I\'m so tired .....
    #200472

  3. #13
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    113
    i was looking though the howto and getting thoroughly lost... can you just explain it to me? for the either one, because i dont get either one.
    http://fedora.rehat.com

    $> man woman
    $> Segmentation fault (core dumped)

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Linux Enthusiast puntmuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Republic Banana
    Posts
    562
    http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/NFS-HOWTO/index.html
    SSH should work out of the box, but I neither do use Gnome nor RedHat / FC . So howto switch that on in Gnome ( I assume you use Gnome, KDE should work out of the box) . So it is better to wait for someone who does know your distro
    I\'m so tired .....
    #200472

  6. #15
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Rockin' in the USA!!!
    Posts
    603
    If you're going to use nfs, you need to make sure that nfs is running
    Code:
    service start nfs
    I believe that smb is the same way
    Code:
    service smb start
    then try connecting via nautilus smb://<host-name>

  7. #16
    Linux Engineer adrenaline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    1,058
    Quote Originally Posted by puntmuts
    For fish (which is basicly ssh) you'll need to have a ssh server running. Comes standard with most distributions. In KDE applications like Konqueror I type in the address bar fish://192.168.100.100 to access my server.

    NFS needs setting up your /etc/exports file first. Better read a HOWTO about it first, it is not very difficult. After that you start your NFS and Portmap server. Then you can mount remote filesystems which you shared in your exports file.
    I still use samba even if I am connecting two linux boxes. It is efficient and stable. Plus if you put a windows box on your network it will be ready.


    Hey I had never heard of fish. I tested it after reading this thread that is really cool thanks for the tip.

    Mike
    Some people have told me they don't think a fat penguin really embodies the grace of Linux, which just tells me they have never seen a angry penguin charging at them in excess of 100mph. They'd be a lot more careful about what they say if they had.
    -- Linus Torvalds

  8. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Leiria - Portugal
    Posts
    72

    sftp

    You can use sftp to put and get files to/from a remote system!

    Just use sftp user@<remote-address-or-name>

    then PUT or GET something.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •