Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi all, I'm a newbie to Linux and first time trying to set up my own web server. I have been doing lots of reasearch over the net for the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

need help with virtual host and some dns questions

Hi all,
    I'm a newbie to Linux and first time trying to set up my own web server.
    I have been doing lots of reasearch over the net for the past two weeks.
    Here is what I accomplished so far:
    Installed Linux 9
    Running Apache
    Loaded webmin and usermin --- awesome program! btw

I am doing all this testing within an internal network, no internet connection yet. This is what I'm having problems with now.
    I am trying to test setting up virtual hosting. I added the 2 virtual host names to the httpd.conf file but I have no clue on how to set up a DNS record on the server. Can someone please give me the steps?

I also have some basic questions regarding DNS server. Since I don't have a static IP, I must use one of those dynamic DNS hosting services. If so, do I still need a local DNS server for my emails and virtual hosts?
    What I really mean is can I still run my own webserver and email domain without running a DNS server off my server?

Thanks in advance. I'm sorry for being such a newbie but I am trying.

Linux User
    by "to set up a DNS record on your server" i am assuming you want to
    identify it uniqely with a domain name.
    then you will need to place
    "ServerName <your url>"
    in your virtualhost directive.
    for eg:

<VirtualHost *>
    # ServerName dummy-host.example.com
    #</VirtualHost>

Just Joined!