Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
To start with, I'm fairly new to linux. I migrated about seven months ago from win to lin (fedora core). I'm involved in a wifi network. This started as a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

question about users and multiple servers

To start with, I'm fairly new to linux. I migrated about seven months ago from win to lin (fedora core).

I'm involved in a wifi network. This started as a hobby network for those who can't connect to the internet with xDSL or cable. This network has grown over the last few years from 4 to 75 users. We have a server for File, mail, web & ftp running on windows. This server will migrate to 2 linux servers in the next few months (one service at a time, later if needed more servers will be added) One server wil serve the website and ftp while the other runs e-mail and fileservices.

We want to make it possible for users to have an own homepage, e-mail account, ftp site and userspace. If the user logs in (LDAP) on the fileserver, we want the user to see a few subdirectories:
    * /pool (for network wide availlable files)
    * /ftp (read only, www availlable files)
    * /homepage (/home/<user>/public_html
    * /eigenftp (own ftp like homepages)

Is this possible and what would be the best way to do this?

It's quite possible. I'm not sure how I would go about this as I've never done it, but I'll give you some pointers off the top of my head. First off, OpenLDAP is your man. Now as far as the user setup goes, make sure all your permissions are tight. Don't let normal users read/execute things that they will never need (or shouldn't use). Keeping everything they need in their /home/<user>/ and chrooting them to this would be the best way, IMHO.

Well...I can't think of anything else right now, but if I do I'll be sure to throw out some suggestions. Hope this helps!
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."