Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello all I am new to Linux, i already used Redthat and Mandrake to see how linux worked and so on. So im not a total newbie but aint a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Server Selection

Hello all

I am new to Linux, i already used Redthat and Mandrake to see how linux worked and so on.
    So im not a total newbie but aint a expert either.

I need some opinios and ideias from more experianced linux users.

My company changed offices 1 week ago and on the new office there will be a server for the company.
    This server will be for web and email, some space to keep backups from users PC, nothing very important.

We are a very small company so we are looking for inexpensive or very cheap solutions.
    My questions would be:

1- The best linux for running a small web/mail server, with as litle costs as possible.
    2 - If there is a linux package that as web/mail server incorporated (like Windows 2003 server)
    3 - If not what are the best linux solutions for web/mail servers, again either inexpensive or cheap.
    4 - Any ideias are very welcome

I thank you in advance
    Best regards

Neokid

Linux Engineer
    1- The best linux for running a small web/mail server, with as litle costs as possible.
    None, all are really good. I personnaly like Mandrake and Debian.

2 - If there is a linux package that as web/mail server incorporated (like Windows 2003 server)
    3 - If not what are the best linux solutions for web servers, again either inexpensive or cheap.
    Apache... is THE solution to go for, 60% of the current web sites worldwide use apache. It runs on windows and linux. It is strong and very reliable.

As for mail server, I do not know but Adrenaline sure know what to recommend for this.
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama