Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
i want to use Squid on my Redhat server does anyone know how to install squid? i have read the manual and my brains too simple for that thanks for ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Calumet, MI
    Posts
    14

    how to install SQUID


    i want to use Squid on my Redhat server does anyone know how to install squid? i have read the manual and my brains too simple for that thanks for any help

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer adrenaline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    1,058
    squid should already be installed
    check /etc/squid
    if it is there
    config the .conf file and
    /etc/init.d/squid start
    Some people have told me they don't think a fat penguin really embodies the grace of Linux, which just tells me they have never seen a angry penguin charging at them in excess of 100mph. They'd be a lot more careful about what they say if they had.
    -- Linus Torvalds

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Calumet, MI
    Posts
    14

    Danke

    ok thanks for your input!!! when i get home im gonna take a look thanks again!

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Calumet, MI
    Posts
    14

    error

    squid is stopped
    FATAL: Could not determine fully qualified hostname. Please set 'visible_hostname'

    Squid Cache (Version 2.5.STABLE1): Terminated abnormally.
    CPU Usage: 0.020 seconds = 0.020 user + 0.000 sys
    Maximum Resident Size: 0 KB
    Page faults with physical i/o: 391
    /etc/init.d/squid: line 162: 2846 Aborted $SQUID -k check

    Thats the error i get now

  6. #5
    Linux Engineer adrenaline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    1,058
    I am not too sure about what you are trying to do but it sounds like you need to add a hostname in /etc/hosts
    Some people have told me they don't think a fat penguin really embodies the grace of Linux, which just tells me they have never seen a angry penguin charging at them in excess of 100mph. They'd be a lot more careful about what they say if they had.
    -- Linus Torvalds

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Calumet, MI
    Posts
    14
    well... it just wont let me run it... or turn the service on

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Calumet, MI
    Posts
    14
    heres the error which pops up..


  9. #8
    Linux Engineer adrenaline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    1,058
    Did you try editing the squid.conf file. especially line 162?
    Maybe look at 161 also.
    Some people have told me they don't think a fat penguin really embodies the grace of Linux, which just tells me they have never seen a angry penguin charging at them in excess of 100mph. They'd be a lot more careful about what they say if they had.
    -- Linus Torvalds

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Calumet, MI
    Posts
    14
    is the the one in the etc\init.d

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Calumet, MI
    Posts
    14
    exit 1
    esac


    thats on the line

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •