Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am new to the all versions of the linux OS world. I am running Red Hat 9 and i am working on a class project. My objectives are to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Need Help FAST....Web server..

I am new to the all versions of the linux OS world. I am running Red Hat 9 and i am working on a class project.

My objectives are to create a web server

- Modify it to access an Microsoft SQL server
    and use a scripting language to query the SQL server

so far i have apache up and running but i have no clue how to get this server to communicate with the microsoft sql server. i know it has soemthing to do with free TDS but i am a complete newbie. i don't know how to install anything. i also need to know how to access computers on the domain i am on. what confiurgation settings must be set for this to work? and what must i do to get on the domain?

If anyone can help me out with anything it would be a huge help..i am on week6 of a 7 week project and i'm startin to sweat..

-Jomo

Linux Enthusiast
    With Apache and communication with MS-SQL, you should really have a look into PHP, where there are several of examples how to interact Apache and MS-SQL server.

As for communication between you Linux and WIndows servers, check out the Samba server/client

Just Joined!
    is part of the requirment that is be a MICROSOFT sql server, if not i would use mysql, buch easier to access from php, which would be your best bet when trying to access any database on linux.

Just Joined!
    The MS-SQL server is already set-up. I need to communicate with it using redhat9...my instructor says i must use a scripting language to query the SQL server. I am in the dark on this one. if anyone had any step by step processes that i can look at it would be a great help. I only have one more 5 hour class to complete it and if i don't i'm in trouble.

-Jomo

Linux Enthusiast