Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Hi, I had a look to squid but was not exactly what I was looking for. I'm looking for a software which will allow me to monitor the users activity ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    12

    looking for a proxy software solution


    Hi,
    I had a look to squid but was not exactly what I was looking for.

    I'm looking for a software which will allow me to monitor the users activity over the web.

    Thank you

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    SE, Stockholm
    Posts
    512
    Hi,
    I would defenetly recomend you to take another look into the Squid site once again and check out for the logging utilites that are presentaded there, maybe even check out the squidGuard site even though it has been quite outdated on updates, but it still runs like a charm.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    12
    So I can set up squid for the only purpose of monitoring?

    Thank you

  4. #4
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    SE, Stockholm
    Posts
    512
    Well, yes and no has to be my answer, since if you wish to have Squid as a monitor tool, all the HTTP requests has to flow through the Squid server. Otherwise it will be kind of hard to analyze the information.
    But you do not need to install it as a caching proxy, but I would say that a transparent installation would be the optimal installation, in that case you dont need to set up anything on the workstations.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    12
    Thank you Swemic!

    I guest i 'll will be a liltle tricky to set it up that way because people use it for the cache fonctionnality and all the squid configuration info must be about to mount squid as a cache server.

    If someone have info about how set it up that way, please post!

  6. #6
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    SE, Stockholm
    Posts
    512
    No no, its not that hard, basicly all you have to do is to set down the cache file size to lets say zero Bytes. Or even better, that you just set the parameter in squid.conf that actually turn off the caching function.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    12
    Oh, only that!

    So thank you very much for everything!!
    I have to go, I have a server to mount..

    Thank you again, keep helping, it's very appreciate!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •