Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 61
Originally Posted by Dolda2000 Exactly, that is most likely because they're blocking it. ****ers *low voice* heh...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #51
    r5a
    r5a is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Toronto Canada Ont
    Posts
    63

    Quote Originally Posted by Dolda2000
    Exactly, that is most likely because they're blocking it.
    ****ers *low voice* heh

  2. #52
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Have you considered talking to them about it?

  3. #53
    r5a
    r5a is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Toronto Canada Ont
    Posts
    63
    Considering, I just dont want to get in alot a shithole with them. I think i can contact my ISP to unblock my 25 port...

    a) No where, not on ANY TOS that i read says you can't run any service however..
    Quote Originally Posted by Bell TOS DSL
    Running a webservice is a security risk, we advise you not to run any webservice
    b) im paying for a low level business class DSL line, i should be able to run a mailservice right?

    c) I hate hotmail.

  4. #54
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    I see no reason why they would want to block SMTP traffic.

  5. #55
    r5a
    r5a is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Toronto Canada Ont
    Posts
    63
    Quote Originally Posted by Dolda2000
    I see no reason why they would want to block SMTP traffic.
    I'll let you know how it goes when I call sometime this week.

  6. #56
    r5a
    r5a is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Toronto Canada Ont
    Posts
    63
    COCK SUCKERS!
    Me: "Yeah hey, I waas just wondering if port 25 was blocked on my account?"
    Him: "Is that the ftp port?"
    Me: "No Mailserver."
    Him: "Oh yeah, we just recently blocked it for all users"
    Me: "Well it dosnt say anything in the terms of service running servers"
    Him: "We did it because of spam (somthing like that)"

    mOTHER ****ERS god damn fagbags time to email to no-ip they told me about somthing getting around port 25 blocked.

  7. #57
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    You didn't get angry or anything? ;-)
    Can't you ask them to unblock it for you? If the agreement doesn't say anything about it, then you should be able to. Can you post a link to the agreement so that I may look at it?

  8. #58
    r5a
    r5a is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Toronto Canada Ont
    Posts
    63
    No i didnt get angry, in fact we where both polite.. oh now i get your humor... hehe. I'll try and find a TOS link as i looked thorugh the manuals that came with the service.
    http://service1.sympatico.ca/system/...SpeedUltra.cfm

    Quote Originally Posted by Sympatico™ High Speed Ultra Internet service TOS
    Unlimited bandwidth usage
    Badd idea with me

  9. #59
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Well, the Acceptable Use Policy doesn't limit you in any way from sending messages manually, so you should be able to contact them and unblock that for you. However, I found something else which you might not like:
    In addition to these Policies, while using your Sympatico account, you are prohibited from conducting activities that include, but are not limited to:
    ...
    # Running and/or hosting Server Applications including but not limited to HTTP, FTP, POP, SMTP, Proxy/SOCKS, NNTP, ).

  10. #60
    r5a
    r5a is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Toronto Canada Ont
    Posts
    63
    ****ers can suck my cock, Im going to run so many ****ing servers now that i will cosume 1TB i have too, now im ****ing shafted again, I switched from my old 40 dollar cable isp (rogers) to this one becasue Rogers blocked my internet one day i got home without any warrning or no calls just blocked it so i switched to a 75.00 plan on sympatico, when i ordered it said nothing about servers, I cant really afford my own T1 line (300-600mo) and i dont know if any T1 compintes are aroiund here, well **** me. God damn why do they have to be so *****y about servers "oh my good lord someone is running their own webserver, jesus christ lets go shoot them" ****.
    Well guess they havnt found my Webserver/SSH/FTP/Gameserver/Hosting/Backup Servers/DNS Server and cant forget the applaction server

    [EDIT]
    I wonder how Mircosoft Exchange server 2003 might work...
    [/edit]

Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •