Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4
Results 31 to 40 of 40
1)yes other PC's are connected to the internet...i.e when we set the proxy server as 192.168.0.36(it is the IP of the PC to which the phone cable is directly plugged) ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #31
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    21

    1)yes other PC's are connected to the internet...i.e when we set the proxy server as 192.168.0.36(it is the IP of the PC to which the phone cable is directly plugged)

    2)NO i dont think theres any DNS server running

    3)Windows XP...is the OS of that PC

  2. #32
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    230
    alright, then let's try this again.

    route del default gw 192.168.0.24
    route add default gw 192.168.0.36
    ping 216.239.32.10

  3. #33
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    21
    [root@localhost sysconfig]# route
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
    192.168.0.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
    169.254.0.0 * 255.255.0.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
    127.0.0.0 * 255.0.0.0 U 0 0 0 lo
    default 192.168.0.36 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth0


    [root@localhost sysconfig]# ping 216.239.32.10
    PING 216.239.32.10 (216.239.32.10) 56(84) bytes of data.

    --- 216.239.32.10 ping statistics ---
    6 packets transmitted, 0 received, 100% packet loss, time 5014ms

  4. #34
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    230
    Show me the results for the following command on 192.168.0.36:

    route PRINT

    Is XP running some sort of NAT software or proxy software or something to that effect? If so, what is it called?

  5. #35
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    21
    yes he has installed "winproxy" on his XP machine....


    route PRINT on 192.168.0.36 give the followin

    ================================================== =========================
    Interface List
    0x1 ........................... MS TCP Loopback interface
    0x2 ...00 e0 4c bd 54 90 ...... NVIDIA nForce MCP Networking Controller - Packet Scheduler Miniport
    0x20004 ...00 53 45 00 00 00 ...... WAN (PPP/SLIP) Interface
    ================================================== =========================
    ================================================== =========================
    Active Routes:
    Network Destination Netmask Gateway Interface Metric
    0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 220.226.36.6 220.226.36.6 1
    97.238.2.10 255.255.255.255 220.226.36.6 220.226.36.6 1
    127.0.0.0 255.0.0.0 127.0.0.1 127.0.0.1 1
    192.168.0.0 255.255.255.0 192.168.0.36 192.168.0.36 30
    192.168.0.36 255.255.255.255 127.0.0.1 127.0.0.1 30
    192.168.0.255 255.255.255.255 192.168.0.36 192.168.0.36 30
    220.226.36.6 255.255.255.255 127.0.0.1 127.0.0.1 50
    220.226.36.255 255.255.255.255 220.226.36.6 220.226.36.6 50
    224.0.0.0 240.0.0.0 192.168.0.36 192.168.0.36 30
    224.0.0.0 240.0.0.0 220.226.36.6 220.226.36.6 1
    255.255.255.255 255.255.255.255 192.168.0.36 192.168.0.36 1
    255.255.255.255 255.255.255.255 220.226.36.6 220.226.36.6 1
    Default Gateway: 220.226.36.6
    ================================================== =========================
    Persistent Routes:
    None

  6. #36
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    230
    I think I give up man. I have no experience with using a PC as a router. This may be WinProxy's fault - that maybe the packets ARE leaving the mandrake PC, but packets can't make it back.

    This much I do know for sure. If you can't ping a domain like "www.google.com" then it may be a dns problem or network problem. If you can't ping an IP address like "216.239.32.10" then it is NOT a dns problem and is completely a network problem.

  7. #37
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Delhi
    Posts
    2

    Re: DNS conifguration problem!!

    can u add the DNS provided by ur ISP in the /etc/resolve.conf
    and try to connect to the internet.

  8. #38
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    5

    I have the same problem

    Hi guys..

    I have the same trouble with the DNS as irki_blue_stone...but in my case I'm trying the next example:

    http://langfeldt.net/DNS-HOWTO/BIND-9/DNS-HOWTO-3.html

    I have already gotten the next result correctly:

    $ dig -x 127.0.0.1

    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 26669
    ;; flags: qr aa rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 0

    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;1.0.0.127.in-addr.arpa. IN PTR

    ;; ANSWER SECTION:
    1.0.0.127.in-addr.arpa. 259200 IN PTR localhost.

    ;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
    0.0.127.in-addr.arpa. 259200 IN NS ns.linux.bogus.

    ;; Query time: 3 msec
    ;; SERVER: 127.0.0.1#53(127.0.0.1)
    ;; WHEN: Sun Dec 23 02:26:17 2001
    ;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 91

    but not the next one
    dig cs.mty.itesm.mx

    I got the same problem:

    ; <<>> DiG 9.2.1 <<>> cs.mty.itesm.mx
    ;; global options: printcmd
    ;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached


    I'm working inside a campus and I have an IP address asigned dynamically (DHCP)

  9. #39
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    230
    Next time don't post in somebody elses topic. I seriously doubt you are having the same problem as the other guy did. Just because 2 people sneeze doesn't mean they've both got a cold.

    I want to see the results for the following command:

    dig +norec cs.mty.itesm.mx

  10. #40
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    5

    uppss sorry

    Thank you man...I created another post for my specific problem

    The result for the command that you requested is on " Caching Only DNS problem"


    Tks

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •